We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub atmosphere and food pretty good as well.”

Rock Bottom Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 364 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good pub atmosphere and food pretty good as well.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went to pub with family and was treated to excellent service. The turn around was pretty quick. The food was cooked well and good value for money. The different beers available also make this somewhat unique in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    82
    45
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rockin bar”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant twice; each time on a Sunday night. Food is very good quality. My only and biggest complaint is the noise level. I can understand the volume being somewhat loud on Friday and Saturday but Sunday I would expect a little softer. The kitchen was able to honor my special request for dinner. I really like this place but don't expect to carry on a conversation with dinner companions and for this reason I probably won't come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaGal2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
365 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before and enjoyed it each time. The food is excellent. The club sandwich is hot and first class. The home brewed beers and ales are described in detail and I have enjoyed all of the ones I have tried. Parking in Bethesda on a Friday night is terribly busy and I recommend parking a few blocks away. Service was. About slow but friendly as always. The bar area was pretty loud so if you want a quiet dinner, this is not your spot.

Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Delicious food, friendly atmosphere, fast service. My favorite place to eat while visiting Bethesda. Reasonably priced

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“An OK bar”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good beer and bar atmosphere, but do not expect gourmet food. The place is rather loud and most tables are heavily traveled. If you like that kind of atmosphere, this place is for you!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing