We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub atmosphere and food pretty good as well.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 356 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good pub atmosphere and food pretty good as well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went to pub with family and was treated to excellent service. The turn around was pretty quick. The food was cooked well and good value for money. The different beers available also make this somewhat unique in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    79
    44
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rockin bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant twice; each time on a Sunday night. Food is very good quality. My only and biggest complaint is the noise level. I can understand the volume being somewhat loud on Friday and Saturday but Sunday I would expect a little softer. The kitchen was able to honor my special request for dinner. I really like this place but don't expect to carry on a conversation with dinner companions and for this reason I probably won't come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VaGal2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
325 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before and enjoyed it each time. The food is excellent. The club sandwich is hot and first class. The home brewed beers and ales are described in detail and I have enjoyed all of the ones I have tried. Parking in Bethesda on a Friday night is terribly busy and I recommend parking a few blocks away. Service was. About slow but friendly as always. The bar area was pretty loud so if you want a quiet dinner, this is not your spot.

Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Delicious food, friendly atmosphere, fast service. My favorite place to eat while visiting Bethesda. Reasonably priced

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An OK bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good beer and bar atmosphere, but do not expect gourmet food. The place is rather loud and most tables are heavily traveled. If you like that kind of atmosphere, this place is for you!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing