We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An OK bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Bottom Brewery

Rock Bottom Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An OK bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good beer and bar atmosphere, but do not expect gourmet food. The place is rather loud and most tables are heavily traveled. If you like that kind of atmosphere, this place is for you!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    74
    37
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Service and Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My friends and I like to come here when we are all in Maryland at the same time. The beer is really great and their burgers are delicious. Since they revamped their menu and took the lobster mac and cheese off, I have been getting their burgers and I have to say, I don't miss the mac and cheese any longer! We've had great servers each time, except for once. She was the exception. All other servers were attentive and personable. It's a nice laid back place if you are looking to just have fun with some friends, eat tasty burgers and drink good beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LW150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best microbreweries I have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I visited Rock Bottom for the beer. They have at least 5 varieties of beer that they brew in house. I didn't have any food so I can't comment on that. The service was outstanding and the beer was delicious and very reasonably priced compared with the rest of the bars nearby.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This a great place to relax after work, holidays or whatever the occasion. The food is very delicouis, will wait a bit, but it's worth it. I do recommend the burgers, bourbonzolla, the A.M. Burger and hickory BBQ burger. The beers are the center piece of this place, I recommend the red ale to start off, the dark ale and kolshe. On Sunday's around noon they do have happy hour specials the beers are half off, they have selected meals and wines. It's very clean and waiters as well as the bartenders are ententive to the customer. The only down side it can be very crowded and loud around happy hour as well as the weekend.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thatdudehector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Food, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

When we travel, we frequently head to the Rock Bottom. Great beers and the food is generally good. Very much fits the picture of the microbrewery, but does a very good job with it. We go to bar trivia on Wednesday nights. Big fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing