We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer beer beer”

Rock Bottom Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Bottom Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rock Bottom Bethesda is five miles north of DC, just off Wisconsin Avenue at the corner of Norfolk Ave and St. Elmo Ave. Yes, it's a lot of Avenues, but we're totally worth it. Just wait until you take your first sip of an award-winning, handcrafted ale from Brewmaster Geoffrey S. Lively. Not only does the beer speak for itself, but he started at Mile High Brewing...that's right, the Laverne & Shirley brewery. Possibly the best credential ever.And hey, don't forget to check out our recently refreshed menu of made-from-scratch entrees, appetizers, dinner salads, burgers and sandwiches.
Madison, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beer beer beer”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place serves a great selection of beer. The food is reasonable, standard fare but the choice of different beers makes this a fun place to drop in on. The bar area to the left is more bustling than the quieter large seated area to the left so there is a nice choice of options depending on your mood. The food is good value with larger than average portions. Wednesday night quiz night get's very busy but a friendly place to visit and makes sure you try one of the guest ales.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank duncanhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    84
    45
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The homemade beers were the best thing after a hot day. The food was good appitizers wrre awesome! Pretty decent prices. Happy hour had great deals

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephanierdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fun beer place in Bethesda”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good specials, tasty beers and food, pleasant servers. This is an easy choice when you are looking for a good beer and bar food. The only down side is that it can get really loud, so not a good place for a quiet conversation.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Flights are fun, and there's savory food, too.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We liked the choices and the flights of interesting beers. It's all a little fatty, as you'd expect, and I hope that gets fixed in time.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank seascape2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petal, ms
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food & great service”
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Wednesday evening and enjoyed the experience. I had the Texas Fire steak with Mac n cheese and broccoli with a house salad. The portions are big and the steak was cooked to my preference (medium well) to perfection. The Mac n cheese was wonderful. Our waiter was Jonathan and he was friendly and efficient. Hubby had the southwestern shrimp and chicken and said it was spicy, but good. Will go back.

Helpful?
Thank golfnutx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Brewery also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Rock Bottom Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing