We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyable Birthday Dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapeseed

Grapeseed
4865 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 986-9592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grapeseed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 338 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Norfolk and Woodmont
Transit: Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.
Description: Grapeseed American Bistro is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Birthday Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved dinner! It was quiet on a Monday evening, which was a bonus. The server provided us with just the right amount of attention. The food was cooked and seasoned perfectly - I had the redfish, and my spouse had the filet mignon. The recommended wine pairings were excellent! A must try is the cornmeal fried oysters. Oh my! They were also able to accommodate for a gluten restriction, and they remembered to put a candle on my spouse's dessert! Thank you, staff at Grapevine!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelover1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It was ok, but the living social deal is a major scam.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we got 2 apps, 2 entrees and 2 desserts for $44. It was ok, but that's what it should cost. The bill came for $110-value-$110 deal so I was left to leave a $17 tip plus $7 tax and I would say spending $68 ($44+17+7) bucks for what we got wasn't that great. we both got good appetizers, maybe worth 8 each, the nicoise salad as the entree and there weren't even any olives in it. No house wine even came with the deal, and desserts were nothing great so don't get how it can be $110 value. I could have left less of a tip, he wasn't that great a server, but whatever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
213 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We attended a New Zealand wine dinner with six wines paired with excellent small plates, a mini crap cake, chicken, and lamb shepard's pie among others. Each was outstanding, despite the wine being only acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a groupon for a 3 course dinner and bottle of wine ($79). Wow!! We lucked out.

We were the second table seated and the atmosphere in the front during the day is underwhelming. We had three servers rotating through as the shift started --- all polite and helpful. Good tips on food an wine.

We started with the oysters (breaded and flash fried but smooth like ice cream) that had an amazing sauce with a hint of pancetta and the mushrooms fricasse. The reviews were right-- rich with just the right blend of polenta cream and shrooms.

Our salads were the arugula (let hem do the dressing on it as it was fresh an flavorful, but light enough they didn't overdo it) and the grilled Cesar. Who would have thought lettuce could be so interesting?!

Our mains were the filet--- very rich sauce on it and the potatoes were perfect. I had the scallops-- excellent flavor, a bit spicy, with a mash and green that was indescribable.

We should have stuck with the wine recommendation but we wanted to try something else--- but even ours was a good accompaniment. We did taste the one she recommended and it was fab.

It is worth the stop and the value extraordinary. Looks like a great place for groups as the room was beautiful and the food excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delivered on the Hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I'll make this review short. I had read a lot of local reviews of Grapeseed and finally had a chance to dine there. It delivered on the promises of a great meal. The food was delicious without being overly complicated, was as described in the menu, and with all of the flavors working well together. The mushroom fricassee, Korean BBQ beef tips, grilled caesar, cucumber soup, filet mignon, and gooey vanilla butter cake were all very good. The service was attentive without hovering - a must for me.

We were seated in the side dining room (a hallway like area of booths across from a glass-walled dining room) but were not bothered by the few people going by as it was quiet there. The noise level there was great, we could talk all through dinner without having to raise our voices and without hearing other diners conversations. I didn't notice outdoor seating or if the bar area was full when we left, and it was an early dinner on a Saturday evening.

Go. From starters to dessert, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ultimatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapeseed also viewed

 
 

Been to Grapeseed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing