We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations.”
Review of Grapeseed

Grapeseed
Ranked #81 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Norfolk and Woodmont
Transit: Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.
Description: Grapeseed American Bistro is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a groupon for a 3 course dinner and bottle of wine ($79). Wow!! We lucked out.

We were the second table seated and the atmosphere in the front during the day is underwhelming. We had three servers rotating through as the shift started --- all polite and helpful. Good tips on food an wine.

We started with the oysters (breaded and flash fried but smooth like ice cream) that had an amazing sauce with a hint of pancetta and the mushrooms fricasse. The reviews were right-- rich with just the right blend of polenta cream and shrooms.

Our salads were the arugula (let hem do the dressing on it as it was fresh an flavorful, but light enough they didn't overdo it) and the grilled Cesar. Who would have thought lettuce could be so interesting?!

Our mains were the filet--- very rich sauce on it and the potatoes were perfect. I had the scallops-- excellent flavor, a bit spicy, with a mash and green that was indescribable.

We should have stuck with the wine recommendation but we wanted to try something else--- but even ours was a good accompaniment. We did taste the one she recommended and it was fab.

It is worth the stop and the value extraordinary. Looks like a great place for groups as the room was beautiful and the food excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delivered on the Hype”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I'll make this review short. I had read a lot of local reviews of Grapeseed and finally had a chance to dine there. It delivered on the promises of a great meal. The food was delicious without being overly complicated, was as described in the menu, and with all of the flavors working well together. The mushroom fricassee, Korean BBQ beef tips, grilled caesar, cucumber soup, filet mignon, and gooey vanilla butter cake were all very good. The service was attentive without hovering - a must for me.

We were seated in the side dining room (a hallway like area of booths across from a glass-walled dining room) but were not bothered by the few people going by as it was quiet there. The noise level there was great, we could talk all through dinner without having to raise our voices and without hearing other diners conversations. I didn't notice outdoor seating or if the bar area was full when we left, and it was an early dinner on a Saturday evening.

Go. From starters to dessert, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ultimatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Recent group dinner”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My work group recently had a fantastic dinner at Grapeseed. There were close to 20 people in our group and all enjoyed dinner. We were offered the private dinning room which is separated to the rest of the by glass walls and sliding doors. The food was fantastic and all in our group enjoyed it. The wine list is very pricey, but if you look carefully, you can find some gems. I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious time in Bethesda”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten at Grapeseed many times over the years and keep returning. This time, however, was different. As they were taking us to our table, the very worst table in the whole restaurant, I spoke up and asked for something different. They seated us at the chef's table. What a blast!!! We were able to watch all the food being prepared and we were highly entertained. The talent in the kitchen is amazing and our food was delicious. My husband loved the calamari appetizer and the redfish was delicious. I will always recommend Grapeseed as it is a dependable choice in Bethesda and the chef's table is quite a treat. A little warm up there, but well worth it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Grapeseed of Bethesda”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went there on a Saturday night with a work friend. For this 7:30 PM reservation, made on-line, we got a corner table. (You can make reservations by phone as well).

Excellent ambience! Though the bistro was full, it was QUIET! We were able to talk, strategize, and get some work done AND enjoy the meal. The wait staff was unobtrusive, but always seemed to be there when we looked up for something.

They have a large wine list and also have printed suggestions for wine pairings with every cooked dish. That was useful. And the one they had selected for our entrees was very well paired. It was not a case of pushing the most expensive libation on the customer. That was also appreciated.

Turning to the food, it was on the expensive side but prepared very well. Some standouts: the mushrooms fricassee , pecorino potatoes and something quite yummy with cauliflower. The desserts were very good but not exceptional.

Parking on a Saturday night at peak time was oddly enough very smooth. One block away is a Public Parking garage and it was free - the city of Bethesda makes this possible, I understand. You can also go for a valet parking if you wish.

I would go back; I would suggest to my dining companions they spend a moment on the bistro's website at http://www.grapeseedbistro.com/.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfaGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapeseed also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
 

Been to Grapeseed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing