We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant in Bethesda”
Review of Grapeseed

Grapeseed
Reserve with OpenTable
Grapeseed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 364 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Norfolk and Woodmont
Transit: Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.
Description: Grapeseed American Bistro is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Bethesda”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I enjoyed the food here, as did the other 4 in my group, though it was somewhat of a mixed bag. The Ahi tuna was outstanding. The bean soup was so-so, and served too cold. The dessert menu was limited; we got the cheese plate which was ok, but I've had better elsewhere.

I found the ambiance a bit disappointing. The restaurant was kept too cold for my comfort, the music was a bit too loud, and the lighting a tad too bright.

Overall, a high-quality place with some fantastic food, but a notch below similarly priced places in DC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great little wine bar”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent wines by the glass in a neighborhood bar atmosphere! Food was tasty and the wines well thought out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank msnform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent and imaginative food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As others have said, Grapeseed is a great choice for foodies. Not inexpensive but good value for what you get. To cut costs, here's some advice: The beef-tip appetizer is a good-size portion. Go during Restaurant Week (both DC and Bethesda RW are twice/year), look for Groupons, and try their lunch deals, either 12.00 or 18.00 for appetizer and entree.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Grapeseed never disappoints. Food and service are always excellent. Good wine selection. Shared appetizers and each had delicious entrees. We eat here 5-6 times a year and love it every time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanBoydMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food with above average prices”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The good: My filet was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing.
The bad: The horseradish mashed potatoes had no flavor
The ugly: The tomato and mozerella was JV at best. The tomatoes were cut in an unintentional wedge shape and the mozerella balls were clearly purchased from the Giant down the street.

If I pad $50 for this meal it would have been great. Having paid over a hundred I need to write this post to remind myself to stop coming back to this place every couple years!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank broyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapeseed also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
 
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Grapeseed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing