We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good fusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
7240 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2951
(301) 718-8680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 338 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Interesting fusion food. Get's very busy, but worth the the wait. The service staff are very helpful and easy going.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sahsasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    81
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went here during lunch with workmates. The waitstaff was very accomodating as we wanted to sit outside and had a group of 8. They pushed some tables together outside and we all had a great time.

I had a tasty bento box and a beer. Was delicious lunch. Recommeded

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fuego2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delicious sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It’s crowded and very noisy, but Raku has great sushi. They also have interesting fusion dishes, but honestly, we usually just get the sushi. The fish is very high quality and because of that I tend to order sashimi or the simple nigiri sushi, avoiding the fancier rolls. However, the hamachi/avocado/cucumber roll is delicious and I will order that one again. One great thing about Raku is that they have a gluten-free menu AND actually understand what it means to be really gluten-free. They specify exactly what changes there will be to which rolls (i.e. leave off the sauce, or no fish roe) so that you can decide whether you want that or not. In the summer, they’ve got a great outside area on the sidewalk where you can be part of the large Bethesda crowd in the evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ordered sushi to go on a busy Friday night... we had to wait a little bit but the sushi was delicious! We will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The only place to eat sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Get the wasabi dynamite roll every time. We also always get the tuna California and the Maguro nigiri. Awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lou k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing