We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, great service, always reliable”

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
Ranked #3 of 365 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service, always reliable”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best sushi and Japanese in the area. Fish is fresh. Some of the more unique items -- Tuna Tataki pizza, for example -- are quite tasty. Nice outdoor seating in the right weather. Good price. Drinks are so-so. The wait staff are always so friendly. Child-friendly place, as are all the places in this 'hood. Perfect place for before the movies up the block. Make a reservation if betwen 6-9.

Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    95
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“I never thought I would love Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

In 1999, when I started working in Bethesda we had a great group and went to restaurants for lunch almost everyday. There was no shortage of restaurants in Bethesda. My vegetarian friend suggested this place and I frowned and said to eat Sushi? I was dragged there and since then have been a regular visitor for now 13 years. I love their Veg Bento box but our family favorite is the red curry Udon Noodle soup.. Yummmm.. This is the place I go for Birthday every year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anitakulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always a pleasurable experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been going to Raku for over 10 years and it is definitely a favorite stop while in Bethesda. I'm from San Francisco and am somewhat of a food snob, but this really cuts the muster. They have wonderful sashimi, sushi and rolls to suit all palates. I'm always thanked when I bring new business colleagues here and expose them to the Raku experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whirled_Traveler0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bento Box!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love their bento boxes! I always order the unagi or sashimi bento box and it comes with an assortment of goodies! There's some small crab puffs (or similar) along with portabella mushrooms and green beans. You also get four California rolls and a little salad. If you order the unagi bento box, I believe there's also some mashed potatoes underneath the unagi as well. All bento boxes come with miso soup served beforehand.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I've had!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I happened upon this place while looking for options and I was VERY pleased. The prices are decent and the sushi is top-notch. The atmosphere is very modern and whimsical. Try the Chilean Sea Bass Tempura Roll, it's great!
The staff is friendly and attentive, you'll be glad you went!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Btowntraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing