We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bento Box!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
Ranked #3 of 339 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
San Francisco
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bento Box!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love their bento boxes! I always order the unagi or sashimi bento box and it comes with an assortment of goodies! There's some small crab puffs (or similar) along with portabella mushrooms and green beans. You also get four California rolls and a little salad. If you order the unagi bento box, I believe there's also some mashed potatoes underneath the unagi as well. All bento boxes come with miso soup served beforehand.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    82
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I happened upon this place while looking for options and I was VERY pleased. The prices are decent and the sushi is top-notch. The atmosphere is very modern and whimsical. Try the Chilean Sea Bass Tempura Roll, it's great!
The staff is friendly and attentive, you'll be glad you went!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Btowntraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, consistent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Always a nice place to eat. Dishes are consistently good as is the service. Only downside is that it is always crowded and a bit noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xx_familyguy_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, but they need to expand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have eaten here once and at their Dupont location several times. The food is consistently excellent, prices are reasonable and the seasonal specials are above-average. I ate here on a weeknight and we were able to be seated immediately. My one problem with this location is the indoor seating - if you are at a regular table (i.e., not in a booth or at the bar), you are in serious jeopardy of jostling elbows with your neighbors. Not a great place for a private conversation, to say the least. Nevertheless, I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank km1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great selection and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ruku-An was packed when we passed it after 10 pm on a Saturday night, while all the other resturants in the area were emptying out. We went in and were asked where we'd like to sit. We chose a booth which gave us the optimum people watching advantage. The resturant was populated by a diverse group of patrons, young and old, well dressed and casually-dressed.

The waitress was warm and helpful when my husband asked many question regarding various dishes on the huge menu. She freely provided her opinion when asked to choose between dishes for one of the guests. The menu was mostly sushi and fish dishes cooked with a unique Asian twist.

Sushi not usually my personal favorite, because I do not enjoy either the seaweed wrap or the raw fish was prepared with a soy wrap and veggies. It was so good I ate it all. The grilled Chilean seabass was perfectly prepared as was the boullibaise.

While the wine menu was extensive, some of the varieties were unavailable. Also, the padding on the bench was a bit worn. Overall, I would highly recommend this resturant ot anyone visitng Bethesda.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arbie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing