We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Reasonably Tasty - Reasonably Healthy Fast Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Tortilla

California Tortilla
Ranked #159 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reasonably Tasty - Reasonably Healthy Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just what it says - in a hurry - not a big budget - need to feed kids - this is the place. I have used their catering for a large kids event and they were on time, on task and flexible.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I like this place so much, I read the junk emails from them (specifically Pam, the Queen of Burritos).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I think I could classify my following of this place as a 'cult following' (I go there as often as once a week), as the food is acceptable (even to my fresh foodie friends), and the atmosphere is lunch perfect (think of it as Chipotle with a non-phony (unless you consider the 80's entirely phony) atmosphere, genuinely friendly staff (we trade glances at baby pictures), and actually inventive food (although it would be nice if they had continuity on some of the specials, like the gyro and chicken club burritos). I often bring co-workers, as it makes for a fast, business-like lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good fast food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Along the lines of Baha Fresh or Lebanese Taverna in quality, seating is mostly chairs (not benches). Love the tea selection and taco salad!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
286 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not as good as Chipotle but they don't have Queso”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Good variety of burritos and hot sauce.
Can't knock the queso & chips

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent burritos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I would have liked a different choice for the burrito wrap such as spinach.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjcnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Tortilla also viewed

 

Been to California Tortilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing