We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced and undervalue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCormick & Schmick's
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
silver spring
Level Contributor
305 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Overpriced and undervalue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you are a M&S fan, then this restaurant will please you, like all the others. But like the others I've eaten in, I find that the meals seem chain-like. A high quality chain, to be sure, but not homemade and not cooked to excel. More like cooked not to fail.

This is also a very, very noisy place to eat. if you are over 40, you'll likely have trouble hearing the conversation at your table.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Service and food have deteriorated-avoid this restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Went for family dinner with party of 10. Expected to eat together and enjoy tasty food. We sat for 2 hours before last person was finally served dinner. Others were served dinner three at a time every 15 minutes or so. Waiter attributed service problems to “problems in the kitchen”. Management didn’t seem to care. Food preparation was barely fair. Avoid this restaurant-Bethesda has many other options.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eatingout6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad farewell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a very pretty place with very good seafood. Unfortuneately, it closed its Bethesda location right after we visited.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank JudgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SAVE YOUR MONEY, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

what a dump, went for group dinner, got hosed. steak was dry like a rubber band, spaghetti was cold and burnt at the same time. service was painfully slow and price was ridiculously expensive. save your money, you are better off at McDonald's.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank monica061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“horrendous service- literally was a joke!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Went in a group of 4 for the Sunday lobster special. We arrived on time for our 7 pm reservation. The waiter promptlyannounced they were out of lobster. He advised that if we wanted lobster we should come earlier than 6 pm or they will be out. He added they were also out of spinach. Shortly after ha added they had only one rainbow trout left. I said I'll take it. He came back 10 minutes later to report the trout was gone also. Orders for a glass of wine and one iced tea did not arrive for more than 30 minutes after several requests. The 3 orders Maryland Crab soup all arrived cold. We specifically requested the soup to be very hot. The bowls are served with 2 scoops of crab meat sitting in the soup. The crab balls were ice cold. The re-heated soup was served by a supervisor/mgr. was tried to sell the cold soup as "the way they do it". The waiter, when asked for a dry white wine recommendation suggested a chardonnay. The diner said she wanted something drier like a pinot grigio. The waiter said pinot grigios were all sweet! Yikes! Two and a 1/4 hours hours we finally got out of there, skipping desert because we didn't have another hour to spare. Overall- mediocre overpriced food served in a mismanaged restaurant with laughably bad service.service.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carcajou301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing