We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent food and atmosphere”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
USA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always consistent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I enjoy Ruth's Chris. I have eaten at Ruth's Chris in DC area and other states. The food/beverages, service and atmosphere are very consistent and very good. I met a friend to celebrate our birthdays but she was really late. The staff was patient and respectful. After our wine and dinner, the staff was polite and we tipped well for their service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N0madg0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    20
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food-but expensive”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

always wanted to try-but very pricey-special occasion place only. great food and service, no complaints at this prices

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboy320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Strange experience, but not the restaurant fault”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had another good meal here last week. The portions were huge. The wine was good. The sides were unreal. The steak was done perfect. The real problem was that the building (not restaurant) fire alarm went off 10 minutes into our meal and didn't ever turn off (yes, for the next 90 minutes). Hard to believe. I was disappointed that the restaurant didn't accommodate us. Otherwise, a great meal, although quite expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I ordered surf and turf, and the lobster was better than the steak. I wasn't expecting that. Great bar drinks.

Service was above average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Predictably RC”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ruth's Chris is predictably very good in all regards (THX CTB/MAB!!), unless you get a rogue wait staff or mad cow, I guess. The steak seems to be more "butter soaked" than I even remember from my last visit but that is so much part of their brand that if you don't want (a lot) of Sizzle, best to go somewhere else. The wine by the glass was a bit skimpy and some of the red selection seemed to have a very high tannin content, possibly evidenced by the "stuff" in the bottom of my glass.

The service and atmosphere was friendly and efficient.

I'd gladly go again but ask for less "Sizzle"...Sigh, I miss the Steakhouse Row in Chicago

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cb1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing