We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Predictably RC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 339 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Predictably RC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ruth's Chris is predictably very good in all regards (THX CTB/MAB!!), unless you get a rogue wait staff or mad cow, I guess. The steak seems to be more "butter soaked" than I even remember from my last visit but that is so much part of their brand that if you don't want (a lot) of Sizzle, best to go somewhere else. The wine by the glass was a bit skimpy and some of the red selection seemed to have a very high tannin content, possibly evidenced by the "stuff" in the bottom of my glass.

The service and atmosphere was friendly and efficient.

I'd gladly go again but ask for less "Sizzle"...Sigh, I miss the Steakhouse Row in Chicago

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cb1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Im from the UK and its really hard to find a good steakhouse anywhere let alone good steak (unless you want to pay silly prices) and I have been to Ruths about 4 times and every time the food is excellent and the service impeccable. Let's face it if the USA can't do steak well then who can?!

Helpful?
Thank 123tricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Richly deserved reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love the one in Tysons Corner VA--it makes no difference what you order (crab cakes, shrimp, lobster, steak), the food is wonderful and the service is attentative. This is great for a business lunch or special occassion dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1LarryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“The perfect steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and visited Ruth's Chris for the first time, the place was crowded as spected on a Saturday night, we waited a little but we got a nice table with little heart confetti, our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly, we had fillet mignon and rib eye steak , they were cooked to perfection, tender, juice and tastee, and we got complementary desert for our anniversary, overall very satisfied . Although a liitle pricey , you get what you pay for.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jisazo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They remodeled the bar/lounge area and there is more seating. We eat here pretty frequently and love it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing