We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened to Jaleo?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 356 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: We are walking distance from the Bethesda Metro Station on the Red Line.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What happened to Jaleo?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I had our first date here about 6 years ago and frequented the restaurant until one time we ordered a special that was $14 dollars - a very thinly sliced scallop! And that was the end of that! So last evening when we met a friend we suggested going back and giving them a try and what a mistake. It is still pricey, but before they were good, now everything was just mediocre to terrible. The drinks were innovative, but pricey. However, the food (where it used to be wonderful) was simply tasteless. We ordered fried dates with bacon - the bacon was limp, the breading overdone, and soaking in oil. The calamari wasn't bad, but not extraordinary. The shrimp used to be the bomb, but now they've changed the sauce and it had no flavor. The gazpacho was plain awful - mealy, bland, oily with no texture! The chicken was so-so. We were stupid enough to try and salvage it with dessert only to get a rice pudding that was inedible! Too tart, too sweet, too something that just didn't add up. For the price and the mediocrity, I simply won't return. Too bad, but there are simply too many other options in the area to wallow in "just eh"!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wrldgrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    174
    76
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
293 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The service is slipping if you sit outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been going here for many years and it is a great Spanish Tapis place in Bethesda. Since it was nice out, we asked to sit outside as inside it was packed. That was a mistake as we had to wait a long time for service and when it came it was less than desirable. We ordered drinks and our first tapis plate came out before our drinks, no bread and it went on like that for a while. The food is still very good and we will go back, however, given the competition from the plethora of other choices in Bethesda, the management would be well advised to keep the clients sitting outside accommodated. They also should check out the tables as mine was broken and tilted a lot due to a broken strut underneath the top.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A fun way to try new foods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Believe it or not, this was my six year old grandson's birthday choice. We had reservations, which on a Saturday night would be highly recommended. You should figure two to three plates per person, as the tapas is served in different portions. There is an extensive wine and drink list. The food is well prepared and tasty, it comes out fresh from the kitchen. We had ham croquetas very tasty, mussels fantastic, enough for two to share. A fried seafood pasta, that was just soso, chorizo with mashed potatoes, tasty, fried calamari okay, and a tortilla, egg and potato, okay. My grandson also ordered a beef slider, which he enjoyed very much. The desserts are worth saving some room to order. We had the chocolate flan, very rich, for the chocolate lover. Apple Charlotte, with vanilla ice cream, was amazing. I have to say, the check can add up very fast, so you better not be on a budget. The only real complaint is the descriptions aren't really specific, don't be afraid to ask your waiter. Bon Appetit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gourmand47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Well Prepared food at a Hefty Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been here several times as well as the original once in DC. I prefer the DC location even though we live in Bethesda but both are fine for a special evening or lunch but not for your middle class family experience. We took a friend to lunch her this week and for 3 of us (no alcohol) the tab was over $100.00 with tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RangerDanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tops for Tapas near D.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

While staying at the Hyatt in Bethesda, we dined at Jaleo, one of Jose Andres restaurants. While not the cutting edge molecular cuisine temple that Mini-bar is, Jaleo offers a very large menu of tapas, divided by such headings as Soup and salad, shellfish, meat, veggies, etc. We started with a terrific Mojito and a prosecco based drink. We chose about 3-4 tapas per person and washed that down with a pitcher of superb Sangria. Standouts included a scallop dish; a fried seafood pasta, cauliflower with dates and olives. Service was fine and helpful. It is a fun. energetic place, so don't expect a quiet formal dinner experience. While Jaleo is not inexpensive, if you choose wisely and limit yourself to 2-3 items each, you will probably be quite satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing