We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Restaurant Week Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: We are walking distance from the Bethesda Metro Station on the Red Line.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
389 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant Week Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to be at Jaleo for Bethesda's restaurant week and had a wonderful 5 "course" meal. I started with a wonderful squash soup, followed by several courses of tapas. The crab cakes were exceptional - no breading, just tasty fresh crab with light flavoring. The fried dates wrapped in bacon and peppers filled with goat cheese were excellent. The desert - creme catalana - while not as good as what I've had in Barcelona, was very tasty. While in the past I've always gone to Jaleo in DC just for drinks and tapas, having a full dinner at the Bethesda branch was excellent. I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    152
    71
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Disappointing return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided to return to Bethesda's only tapas restaurant for a date night. Our first two visits had been pretty good to excellent. Although we had reservations, they first tried to put us at a very poor, cramped location. When we asked politely to move to an open window table, we apparently put off the staff, for our waiter showed up only sporadically. Chosen dishes were different than when we had visited previously, and, when one did not match the description on the menu, the waiter told us that sometimes they substituted, or that the kitchen just didn't get it right all the time--hardly the response we would have expected. The bacon-wrapped dates--a dish we had returned for--were over-cooked beyond recognition and tough. We make better ones ourselves. The sangria was watered down and the waiter never returned to ask if we wanted a second. Although the food is usually quite good, we were sorely disappointed this last time, particularly by our neglectful waiter. He was spending quite a bit of time with other customers. In a tapas restaurant, a good waiter weighs heavily in the equation and helps make the whole experience unique. It's especially nice if they offer recommendations. If you go, be careful about asking to switch your table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tapas Heaven Without the Harps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were walk-ins into this lovely Bethesda tapas joint, and were mightily pleased with the food and the service. And the ambiance. We shared a half-dozen little dishes, each one tastier than the one before, all sloshed down some good Spanish wine. It's nice to relax in a low-key place, unhurried, and be well served with well-made food. Congrats to all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tapas heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Jaleo has long been one of my favorite places to eat, and to bring friends. The varied nature of the menu works well for meat-eaters and vegetarians alike, and I think the dishes have very delectable seasonings and flavors. It can get a bit pricey if you order lots of tapas, but my advice is to order a core number to start with and then order more if you're still hungry. The bread and olive oil is also delicious. I also like the original downtown Washington DC location. The Bethesda location is ambient though can get a bit noisy. There are some tables in the large dining area that tend to be a little quieter, likely due to some acoustic effect. Good to go early, or reserve a table for a larger group.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dancesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Bethesda Tradition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Good food, pleasant environment. Specializes in tapas Creativity limited, taste only average. Not the most interesting dining spot in the area

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bethesdashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing