We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be...”
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 364 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: We are walking distance from the Bethesda Metro Station on the Red Line.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be...”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been to Jaleo many times, both in DC and Bethesda, but more frequently the Bethesda location. I used to love these restaurants, but it seems the tapas have gotten a little less interesting over time and the sangria seems pretty weak. On one of my most recent visits I tried one of their cocktails instead and it was way too strong. My last visit, I took a friend visiting from NYC because she really wanted to try one of Jose Andres's restaurants, and she was pretty underwhelmed. The restaurants are also pretty loud and the tables can be pretty close together.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CpdmDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    189
    77
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Tapas!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great tapas and a lovely patio for people watching. Anything with shrimp was delish and the jelly that comes on the cheese plate is awesome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
597 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Small Plates, Big Ambiance, Very Good Food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant and its sister restaurants specialize in Spanish Tapas - that is, small plates. Tonight, my wife and I shared five different plates, including: endive, cheese, and orange salad; lightly fried eggplant; shrimp in garlic sauce; potatoes with a cheese sauce; and cod. All were very good. We also drank the red sangria wine, and it was very good. The ambiance, both inside and out is excellent, as is the service. The prices are moderate to high. It's worth a try!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful restuarant - if only the would have had the A/C on!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First time dining experience here. Highly recommended by several co-workers. Beautiful decor and wonderful music. A big HOWEVER - why wasn't the A/C on? We walked about 3 blocks to dine her on a very warm, muggy evening. Instead of a respite from the weather, we endured more humidity inside than out. Given the weather condition - a cold IPA brought some relief. The selection of tapas is awesome. I would honestly try it all. Our party of 2 decided to order 3 tapas each and share (of course!). We had a beet salad, a warm spinach, apple, raisin & pinenut salad, chicken croquettes (yes it was like eating fried chicken salad - yummy but weird), dates wrapped with bacon then fried (OH YEAH!), lightly fried (did i say more fried items?) eggplant and the fingerling potatoes with a garlic cheese sauce (awesome!). I do have to say I would have liked dessert however, our waiter never came by and asked (oh well less calories to consume before bed) . It was a perfect amount of food for a 9pm meal after a late air travel day. I would try it again but only if the indoor weather is a little cooler!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisam5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Barely average...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Although service is friendly and attentive, Food is mediocre to say the least, and took forever to arrive at our table. Shrimps simply felt thawed and not properly deveined. Vegetables were tasteless (apart from the cauliflower which was very nice). In short, atmosphere is nice, service is good, but the food is a disappointment

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFunDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing