We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Vace Italian Delicatessen
Ranked #93 of 360 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great sandwiches....Love their italian sandwiches. Pricey but worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The BEST Pizza south of NYC!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

STOP! Go no where else - VACE has GREAT pizza -- and take out foods to cook at home. Small family place - I knew their grandfather 34 yearsd ago on Wisc. Ave store. A small hole in the wall deli that IS SO Italian!!!!
If you don't like this pizza you don't know GOOD pizza!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TheCmdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Old School Italian Deli”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have been going to Vace (the original in DC) since I was a child. The Bethesda outpost has the same fare. Inexpensive traditional pizza by the slice as well as good Italian deli sandwiches. The counter is efficient making it a nice place to grab something when in a rush (although parking in the front can be a bit of a trick). Pepperoni pizza, white pizza with spinach, spinach pie, and subs are all good. There is also a nice selection of pastas, olive oils and other Italian imports.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Hivedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza in the DC area, great subs & Italian products as well”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Vace's pizza is awesome, and it's amazing how inexpensive it is. I love their sauce, too - tomato and oregano and none of that sweet BS. You can walk in an order it by the slice or as made-to-order pizza to pick-up.
I have also had subs from here - the bread is a bit hard, but the quality of the meats and cheeses on the subs is very high.
Additionally, they carry THE BEST olive oil I have found in the US, from Imperia-Oneglia, which is my ancestral town (ok, so I'm partial. But really, you can't go wrong with Ligurian EVOO). Olio Calvi all the way! It's reasonably priced, too, for what you're getting. They sell Lavazza Qualita d'Oro at practically what you could buy it for in Italy, which keeps me caffeinated and happy all the live long day! And in case my Bialetti ever fails (which it won't, bless those little contraptions), they sell them in a variety of sizes!!

Go give it a try - but make sure to come at least 30 minutes before they close. They are really serious about closing time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The best take-out lasagna”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

The only thing I ever buy at Vace is the frozen lasagna. And I have bought it for over twenty years. It is fabulous, reasonably priced. When my daughter-in-law had my grandchild, she requested that I bring Vace frozen lasagna. So I bought a cooler, packed it will six medium lasagnas and flew it to California! It's that good. The other stuff always looks great also - this is not a restaurant, you should know, but a take-out deli. Authentic, a great find.

Helpful?
1 Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vace Italian Delicatessen also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Vace Italian Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing