We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just ok thai food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sala Thai

Sala Thai
Ranked #107 of 356 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
446 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“just ok thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

we stopped by since it was open late and close to the house and we just got back from vacation and the food was just ok. The bar was low since we were tried from the trip and just needed to eat, so I might even be generous with the "OK" description. The staff were pleasant and there was no wait at 8:30pm, which is unusual for a Bethesda restaurant, but that in and of itself is a clue...
definitely not planning on going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Used to love Sala Thai, but the food doesn't seem as flavorful as before, and though lots of customers obviously were loving it, we steer clear of music in restaurants because we like to talk over dinner.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank seascape2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a view of Bethesda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Quiet round shaped restaurant with window seating showing off downtown Bethesda. Quality Thai food with good service. We have used them for delivery too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place can have its ups and downs. Service is very iffy. I think a lot of the service don't understand english. Food is just ok.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lgrier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of our favorite Thai restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We've eaten at many Thai restaurants from Hawaii to Alaska (really) and in between, and this is one of our favorites. The food is delicious and artfully presented, the atmosphere is classy, and the prices are reasonable. Another reviewer said that it is not authentic Thai, but I disagree. While we've never been to Thailand, the menu and preparation seem as "authentic" as other Thai restaurants at which we've eaten. We also like the fact that the restaurant is in Bethesda but a bit away from the hustle and bustle, and there is a parking lot across the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Thai also viewed

 

Been to Sala Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing