We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Smoked Salmon App!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodmont Grill

Woodmont Grill
Ranked #1 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smoked Salmon App!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Woodmont Grill occupies the space where the former Houston's used to be and it retains the same menu and decor (it appears to be the same restaurant with the name changed). We always start out by ordering our favorite appetizers - warm spinach dip and their smoked salmon. Years ago we were introduced to the smoked salmon by a waiter at the Houston's in Rockville when it was still open. He told us that if we didn't like it, he'd refund our money for this dish. He was right - it is delicious and we order this every time now. Other entrees that we always get is the French Dip and their traditional salad with buttermilk garlic dressing. We recently had dinner at the Woodmont Grill and ordered the usual spinach dip, smoked salmon appetizer, French Dip, plus the grilled chicken salad and the fish special of the night with crab meat. The fish special and French Dip were both good and the spinach dip was brought to us nice and hot and delicious. However, the smoked salmon appeared to be a tad undercooked and the grilled chicken salad was good but not extraordinary given that it comes at a steep price of $17. Service here doesn't appear to be as good as it was when it was Houston's - our server forgot to bring us our soda refill and cleared away the dishes and dip while we were still eating the French Dip. However, the food is still really good and this remains a favorite of ours in the Bethesda area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    127
    42
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
184 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The food and service here were very good. I had the seared tuna with a salad. It was exceptional. They have a decent wine list and the staff is well trained. Impressive place to bring clients or do business. A little pricey. I was disappointed to learn it was not locally owned, but part of a larger corporate chain with a local name.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddzKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
286 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food, a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This place reminds me very much of Clydes, classic American style and food, nice live jazz set in a semi-formal atmosphere.

Their veggie burger was delicious but for $17 a little pricey. Their babyback ribs were phenomenal, however again a little expensive. If you're going out to celebrate but don't want to mortgage your house over to Mortons this is a good spot to go.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A first class cozy restaurant in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went there for lunch. The decor is first class, and the service topnotch and very friendly. A welcoming restaurant which keeps the lights dimmed very low, so that, unless you eat at one of the outside tables on the patio, this is really a restaurant perfectly suited for intimate tete a tete meetings. The menu is on the expensive side, but the portions are generous and the food excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We miss Houston's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently visted the Woodmont Grill?Houston's because we were craving some of the old favorites from the days Houston's was i Rockville. It did not disappoint.
I always enjoy the Spinach dip appetier and the steamed shrimp are good as well. The daily fish special usually has a crab meat topping in a light sauce which is wonderful. The baked potatoe is large enough to share and that makes for an excellent meal. They offer a number of the dishes that we enjoyed at Houston's and the serivce is always good. Brought back some wonderful memories of the old days in Rockville

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty65Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodmont Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woodmont Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing