We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good concept for winos”
Review of Vino Volo

Vino Volo
Reserve with OpenTable
Vino Volo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: One block east of the Bethesda Metro station.
Kensington, Md.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good concept for winos”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would have given 3.5 stars, but that isn't a choice..The atmosphere and concept of this new wine-centric spot is unique to the area. This is the first non-airport location for this chain. It is comfortable and server was knowledgeable about the wine selections. The wine flights offered a fun opportunity to do side-by-side comparisons of different grapes from various regions. The food was decent, if not inspired. I enjoyed the salad and chicken sandwich - both were fresh and satisfying. The menu could use a few more interesting choices. I'm not really sure if they offer dessert or coffee since it was mentioned or offered by our server, who was also the bartender on a very slow and empty Thursday afternoon. I could see it being a fun, if somewhat expensive, spot in the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Now I know why the restaurant next door was full and this one was not”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bethesda Row/Woodmont Ave is a high volume upscale area. The wine selections were good... we thoroughly enjoyed the two white wine flights with cheese. That's all we enjoyed. The service was inattentive at best. I had to get up from the table to find wait staff who were busy socializing in the corner completely ignoring every customer. The monk fish was over cooked and clumsily prepared. The salad was soaked in an uninspiring vinaigrette with large rounds of citrus that were hard to cut. If I wanted just cheese and some nice wines, this is an ok choice. But, I won't be surprised if they go out of business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“great for a social evening”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We (4) stopped in on a Friday night. Unseasonally warm weather made the sidewalk popular with plenty of room inside. As others have said, the prices are on the high end (even for Bethesda) and the portions are better for tasting than for sharing. And yet the quality of the food is quite good, while the variety and advice on the wines (many of which are available in tasting flights) is a nice change. Our server was did a good job of staying in that space in between neglect and rushing us along--he perfectly matched our pace as we lingered over courses for a 3hr social experience with food and wine as a feature.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although the wine bar is terrific and the location very central, the service was terrible and the food protions minimal for the price. Our server took our order immediately and then forgot about us for more than 1 hour. We saw new tables being served and not us.When reminded we were waiting for our order, he asked us to take our order again (obviously he forgot he alrady did it) Then he said it was not his fault but the kitchen was swamped which was weird because only the outdoor patio was busy. Then we had a word with the manager who apologized and the server came back to us saying we had put him in trouble and he did not know if he would still have a job the next day...The manager took one dish out of the bill and while paying the server rushed us out saying other guests were waiting for our table. I will go back for wine tasting but will forget about the food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This restaurant is new (to me) since I was last in Bethesda in 2007!
The food was delicious and the service was good. The wine menu is varied and interesting. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Volo also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Vino Volo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing