We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Croissants, Coffee and Espresso are very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tout de Sweet

Tout de Sweet
Ranked #2 of 12 Dessert in Bethesda
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Croissants, Coffee and Espresso are very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I've been there several time and the place is good.
Croissants, Coffee and Espresso are very good so was the bread cake I bought there.
Place is a bit expensive but quality is high.

The reason why I give 4 stars is that once I've been the first client @ 8:00am, the opening in a freezing morning, had an espresso and a croissant. The espresso (the first of the day) was bad, going away I told to the waitress that 'usually' you MUST make 2 or 3 espressos and throw them away before serving the first one.
She could offer to make me a fresh, new one (that I wouldn't have accepted), but she didn't.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carloc1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tout de Sweet bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was on my way to a 7-11 for a morning coffee and happened upon this small bakery that seem to have a bunch of people headed into it. Of all the times driving thru I never saw this place. So I was curious and stopped in. There was a gourmet palette of sweets and desserts that caught my eye as they were so well arranged, colorful and smelled so good. I ordered a medium coffee and waffled between the gourmet muffins or almond croissants. The croissants won. As In was waiting for someone, I managed to scarf the croissant down in less than 2 minutes, it being that tender, tasty and flaky. I ordered 6 more to go. They were so delicious and light that you never knew you ate the whole thing so quickly. The staff was so friendly and their smile just drew me in deeper to calorie heaven. Next time, I get the macarons that cried buy me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Too Poor 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I have walked by this cafe many times and always wanted to stop there but never had. I finally did today and I was so glad I did. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable about their offerings. I had a double chocolate muffin-- a delicious mix of bread, cake, and of course chocolate-- and a skim chai that was the right mix of sweet and spicy. A great place to sit and do the crossword. I will come back again for sure!

Helpful?
Thank curlysue41382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good French desserts in the middle of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

French desserts (and cakes made to order) by a trained professional. Breakfast items (croissant, pain aux raisins, scones) are also very good, at the level of what you'll find at the cafe of a major train station in metropolitan France. The coffee is acceptable; definitely better than the Starbucks across the street. The place is kept impeccably clean, and the service is smart and courteous. The macaroons, though not Pierre Hermé (what is?), make good gifts and conversation pieces. Definitely a good stop for breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A sure winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent deserts, very well made, fresh and tasty. Great coffee too. One of the very best dessert shops and excellent service. We do really need more of these kind of establishments.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vinodgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tout de Sweet also viewed

 

Been to Tout de Sweet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing