We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Taste of Maine in Maryland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luke's Lobster Bethesda

Luke's Lobster Bethesda
Ranked #28 of 351 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dixon, IL
Level Contributor
225 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Taste of Maine in Maryland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you love "lobsta", crab and shrimp then this place is for you! Served on true New England style buns, these seafood delicacies are fresh & delicious. Their creamy clam chowder is great as are the meaty crab claws. Their handcrafted "Maine Root" drinks come in 6 flavors: root beer, mexicane cola, blueberry, ginger brew, diet cola & lemonade. My wife & I especially liked the blueberry. Their indoor seating is limited & there are tables & benches in a covered outdoor area. Jason & Chad said that they'll have heating lamps for when it gets colder. Carryouts are available. They've only been open 4 months, but we wish them every success. The next time we're in Bethesda, we'll stop by for another delicious taste of Maine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bearded_bard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,738 reviews
1,083 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,439 helpful votes
“Good Clam Chowder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's a good alternative to other fast food chains.
I had a good clam chowder. It had lots of seafood. It was very tasty and it's a good value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for a chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's a very small place with a few seats inside and some big tables outside. It's located in a nice area.
I had a clam chowder. It had lots of seafood. It was terrific!
My husband had a lobster roll that was also delicious.
I think that is a good alternative to other chains (sandwich or burgers). It has quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
260 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Casual place to grab a bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a good addition to Bethesda's lengthy list of good restaurants. The food is fresh, service is on time and price is right.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lubran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you are tired of meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Luke's is an alternative to the meat based fast food, here you can (fast) eat shrimp, crab or lobster in rolls while seated outside (do not know what they have in mind for the winter time).
Food is good for us, not overwhelmed by sauces, you can also ask to avoid butter and/or mayo and that's also good.
I underline that obviously the price is far more expensive than a fast food but yes you are eating lobster. We spent $37 for 3 rolls (1 lobster + 2 shrimp), 3 sodas (too big?) and 3 chips (too small?).
Maybe give the option of a salad aside the rolls would be appreciated by guests, I guess.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carloc1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Lobster Bethesda also viewed

 

Been to Luke's Lobster Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing