We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Pizzeria - CLOSED

Haven Pizzeria
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Chevy Chase MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pizza is fabulous, fresh salads. Roasted red peppers filled with yummy melted cheese served in little cast iron frying pan - ask for extra crust to sop up the oil in the fry pan!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cecerecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
303 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner, but you need to go if only to see the oven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have tried Haven on weekends but the wait was too long. Finally went on a rainy Monday night and seated immediately. The place is decorated nicely in muted tones. The wine selection looked impressive though we don't drink. Server was attentive and friendly. The roasted red pepper appetizer was so good I saved some to put on top of the pizza. Romano salad very good and dressed perfectly. We got a white spinach & mushroom pizza which was the best white pizza I've ever had. Mozzarella instead of the usual fontina cheese used on white pizzas, and the crust was fantastic. Make sure you watch a little while the action at the massive coal fired oven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Haven Bethesda md”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The best pizza I've had outside of Italy. Have the arugula salad and ice cream for desert. You can't go wrong at Haven. We sat at the bar... Our bartender Justin was awesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a unique - tomato pie - as they call it. Light, cheesy, lots of choices. Specials make it interesting any day of the week. Great location on Wisconsin Avenue. Easy parking. Very nice atmosphere. I immediately thought of bringing our whole (big) family here for dinner sometime. Reasonable prices. They serve gelato too! It was fun watching them make the pizzas from their open kitchen. The crust is thin and light with lots of flavor. I am going back today for lunch with women friends . When my husband heard where we were going he said he is goin g to join us!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food, we'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I went here for an early dinner. We loved to food, the service and the venue. And I like the wine.
This is great for an informal family dinner. Not cheap, but not outrageous $. Lots of families early with the kids, but plenty to offer grown ups at a later sitting. We will be back, frequently!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Schwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing