We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Takes me back to Sally's in New Haven, CT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Pizzeria - CLOSED

Haven Pizzeria
7137 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Takes me back to Sally's in New Haven, CT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I had a blind date at Sally's Pizzeria in New Haven, CT 10 years ago this December. Until eating here we have longed for that crisp coal fired pizza from back in the day. Haven takes us back their and is the real deal with original New York/CT American pizza. Coal ovens are the only way to add that fabulous mouth watering crisp traditional texture and flavor. Thanks for providing us a place to escape and travel back to yesterday! Yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good New Haven style Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a small clam and spinach pizza today here. By far the best New Haven style in this area.
The clams were good as well as the spinach. The crust was thin and a bit crisp as was done many years ago getting this style good. Service was good and the wait at 12:30 PM was only about 15 minutes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy and Delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The pizza itself was wonderful with a crunchy crust and flavorful toppings. The ambience was pretty nice and wasn't intimidating. The only thing bad was the service. The waiters and waitresses are nice but because it is so busy, it may take a very long time for the pizza to arrive. Overall though, I had a very nice experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the newest pizza place in Bethesda, and so far we've only had carry-out, about a dozen times! I'm severely lactose-intolerant, so in general pizza is a challenge. But Haven specializes in tomato pies, with crispy thin crusts. So I get an individual pie with something like artichokes and sausage, and no cheese, and no one ever wants to share!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PickyEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great New Haven style pizza, excellent wine and beer selection, superb gelato.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We go to Haven frequently and the service is always excellent. On the one occasion they slipped up, they brought us an extra free meal. They have a great wine cellar, which is outrageous for a pizza place. The pizza is perfect.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing