We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good New Haven style Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Pizzeria - CLOSED

Haven Pizzeria
7137 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good New Haven style Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a small clam and spinach pizza today here. By far the best New Haven style in this area.
The clams were good as well as the spinach. The crust was thin and a bit crisp as was done many years ago getting this style good. Service was good and the wait at 12:30 PM was only about 15 minutes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy and Delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The pizza itself was wonderful with a crunchy crust and flavorful toppings. The ambience was pretty nice and wasn't intimidating. The only thing bad was the service. The waiters and waitresses are nice but because it is so busy, it may take a very long time for the pizza to arrive. Overall though, I had a very nice experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the newest pizza place in Bethesda, and so far we've only had carry-out, about a dozen times! I'm severely lactose-intolerant, so in general pizza is a challenge. But Haven specializes in tomato pies, with crispy thin crusts. So I get an individual pie with something like artichokes and sausage, and no cheese, and no one ever wants to share!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PickyEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great New Haven style pizza, excellent wine and beer selection, superb gelato.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We go to Haven frequently and the service is always excellent. On the one occasion they slipped up, they brought us an extra free meal. They have a great wine cellar, which is outrageous for a pizza place. The pizza is perfect.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza and Super Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were referred to Haven by friends who consider it the best pizza place in the DC metro area. We thoroughly enjoyed our waitstaff, and the decision by management to make an adjustment to our bill due to mis-timing of our ordered items. Salad was great as was the tomato pie with our extras. Can't say the white clam pie was anything to write home about that night. However, we will certainly be going back as there were just too many nice things about Haven not to!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing