We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting art museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratner Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ratner Museum
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Bethesda
Attraction details
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting art museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The artist that owns the museum is most known for the sculpture at the Statue of Liberty. Included in the museum, is some of his work (Jewish related) and a rotation of art from local artists. Small, but nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Art Gallery with a Jewish Theme - Artist owned: Phil Ratner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Small intimate gallery with free parking. Permanent collection and temporary exhibitions with an educational component.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Curiouser and curiouser”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Mister Ratner must be a very happy guy. He's a prolific artist, painter and sculptor, and he's gotten his very own museum! I had not heard about him before, but now I do recognize some of his works now in other public settings. Even if they are not first-rate, there is a joy and dynamic in his artworks that's infectuous. -- Apart from the permanent, mostly Jewish-themed collection, there are new shows of arts and crafts, quilts and whatnot from other artists and crafters on display. That makes it worthwhile to go back once in a while.
Admission to this museum is free, and they're very welcoming there. Some events and performances have an admission charge. It's useful to get on their email list and stay apprised of upcoming events.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small museum, big message”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place may be small by comparison to the heavy-hitters in downtown DC, but the purpose makes a big statement: to glorify God through contemporary art. Philip Ratner brushes off the beloved Old Testament characters and gives them a modern, sometimes whimsical, deeply symbolic, look that keeps you exploring the piece. In addition, there are many textile and needlepoint pieces by other artists that are hung to complement his works. My 12-year-old daughter immediately suggested the appropriateness of the Ratner Museum for a school field trip, demonstrating its broad appeal. Try it. You'll be blessed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mother_robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Md
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

You have to know where this museum is located. We must have driven by it a hundred times before we finally stopped. There are some lovely sculptures and I loved the fact that children are welcome. It has been some time since our last visit but I seem to remember a room specifically for children to try their hands at art.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ratner Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ratner Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing