We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, fresh, and delicious.”
Review of Don Pollo

Don Pollo
Ranked #97 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fairfax Station, VA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh, and delicious.”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great place for take out. The chicken is wonderful. I generally go for the 1/4 chicken, salad and black beans with pico de gallo. Everything is always fresh and delicious. There are no complicated menus. Perfect for lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good Peruvian chicken”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Since leaving the DC area to move back to Boston, one of the things I miss most are the ubiquitous Peruvian chicken places. I'm not going to start a religious war by mentioning my own faves but Don Pollo was right down the street from our hotel in Bethesda.

There chicken was just the way it should be: moist and flavorful (I had a dark quarter). The rice and beans side was pretty good though the coleslaw was mediocre. Got mac and cheese for the toddlers and they were in heaven with the overcooked noodles and 'Kraft-style" cheese sauce (it's nothing fancy or gourmet). The big win, though, was the black bean salad: black beans, corn, red onion, tomatoes and cilantro over lettuce with a lime dressing - all the veggies were incredibly fresh and flavorful - truly one of the best salads I've had in a while.

So, not my favorite Peruvian chicken place but it scratched my itch and I'd be happy to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in the Bethesda / DC Area”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Only discovered this place this year, but thank goodness ! Having tried every chicken place in the area, includining Nando's Peri-Peri, we can honestly say this is the MOST delicious chicken we've ever had. The chicken is ready very quickly, it's consistently perfectly cooked, and the marinade is divine. The sides are also nice and varied. It's fantastic for take out. For about $20, you can have a really nice sized meal for 2 - not that easy to find anymore in this town !

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I love this place. I work right down the street from Don Pollo. The chicken is amazing - flavorful, crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, moist, seasoned perfectly. The sides are excellent as well. It's always very busy in there, but I've never had to wait longer than 3 minutes for my lunch. Fast, friendly service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBizzle612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pollo also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Don Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing