We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best during COVID-19 challenges”

Chef Tony's Fresh Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 340 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Georgetown Road
Transit: Easy Three block walk from Bethesda Metro station. At the top of the escalator turn left slightly and proceed to third traffic light on Old Georgetown Road. Turn right on St Elmo, we are on right hand side at 4926. Multiple public bus stops also within walking distance.
Description: 16 year history of serving the areas FINEST Mediterranean Seafood & family favorites including Bronzino, Whole Red Snapper, Pastas and so much more! Chef owned and operated 16 years in Montgomery County and growing. Come enjoy a warm intimate surrounding, amazing hearty food, and make some connections.
Reviewed August 15, 2020

I'm back to let you know nothing with the amazing quality and taste of the food or the service has been compromised for the customer in the midst of the incredible challenges Chef Tony, Chef Sonia, and crew face each day in pivoting to go above and beyond to requirements to keep everyone safe. The have done so from the very beginning, never wavering on holding the safety of all as priority. Now open for indoor dining as well as take out. Rest assured, if you wish to dine indoors, you will find the safest possible environment for doing so. As for take out, it keeps me sated with the same wonderful creative food. Stay safe everyone, and put some happy on your face with a dose of Chef Ts.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 720 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2020

Every time I am in the Bethesda area, I make a point to have a meal at Chef Tony’s. It is about 7 hours away and I get there 2 or 3 times a year. Chef Tony and his wonderful wife Sonia, do an outstanding job as owners in a demanding and competitive industry. The staff has always been warm, sincere and accommodating. The ambiance is unmatched. But the huge draw for me is the quality of the food prepared and presented. I am salivating just thinking about my next meal there.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank BusinessMentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2020

I have a very particular palate. I'm a very picky eater. Chef Tony's is at the tip top of my list for a delectable cuisine and great service.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShesParticular
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2020 via mobile

We were frequent visitors to Chef Tony’s before covid 19. Tomorrow is our 52nd wedding anniversary and chef Tony’s is closed on Monday so we ordered online today. We chose not to dine in because of our age. We are in the high risk category as you probably already figured out based on our years of marriage. I want to say that, as figured, even the takeout was fabulous. We ate on our screened in porch which was not the same as dining in. The food is great. I missed Chef Tony coming around to see ifeverything is ok and to just say hello. You cannot go wrong dining here!!! When we arrived for pickup, they had us wait so the chef could do the grilled romaine so it would be better for us for the ride home!! It only took about 2 minutes!!! Love this place!!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank kro4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2020

Best experience of dining out that we have experienced in the US so far. I phoned ahead as I am gluten free and was assured that there would be plenty of options for me. There certainly were. I have never had so many options on a menu. From the welcome we received on entering the restaurant, to the knowledgeable waiting staff, nothing was too much trouble. I had the portobello mushrooms for a starter, the surf and turf for main and flourless chocolate torte for dessert. My husband had the calamari which looked amazing, but I too was offered this if I wanted it just fried. This is customer service at its best. I usually am offered few options and a take it or leave it attitude from staff. All dishes well presented and definitely fresh. Will definitely return as for once there are so many more options for me to try!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GFBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tony M, Owner at Chef Tony's Fresh Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2021

So so nice of you to write such a detailed and kind review.

You inspired us to make a special page on our website for Gluten Free diners, just to make sure we're clear as to what we can do. (we used your testimonial as well).

Thanks again, be well and we look forward to dining with you again!

Chef Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Tony's Fresh Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Kensington, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Chef Tony's Fresh Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.