We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what you would expect”
Review of Maki-Maki

Maki-Maki
Ranked #69 of 365 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's what you would expect”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nothing special about this place. Just sushi, as you would expect. Prices were average. Food was average as well. Probably wouldn't return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Delivery in Bethesda”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I order this 2x monthly. It's delicious. They're fast and fresh. Good California rolls but my favorite is the Red Dragon Maki.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Double_Where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, decent on value, good service”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Small neighborhood restaurant with street parking. Tables are situated close, there is sushi bar, mostly tables (as opposed to bench seating), and a flat screen tv (playing a MMA fight when we went). Good food served fast. Loved the apple fuji salad dressing. Would come again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great sushi and reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Don't know why there is only one review; I'm sure there used to be more (Including mine) so I thought I'd write again, about my most recent visit. Indeed, I almost make the trip to Maki Maki whenever I'm in the Bethesda area. Their sushi and sashimi are excellent. Large pieces, fresh and well prepared. They don't have a lot of the very fancy maki you see in some restaurants, but the basics are there. Try the "white tuna" (whatever that is); it is soft and buttery. Wash it down with a large Asahi -- in a one liter can! A couple of years ago their service was awful, but after some staff changes, they now have very nice, friendly and speedy service. Recommended!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dokness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quality Japanese cuisine at a bargain price”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Maki-Maki is a small neighborhood restaurant, with a capacity of about six to eight parties at table and a small sushi bar. It has been in business for about three years and seems to have found a comfortable niche in the highly competitive Bethesda restaurant scene. We have eaten here on numerous occasions, and while I haven't explored the full menu, everything I have tried so far has been perfectly prepared and generously portioned. The combination bento boxes, which are available only during weekday lunch hours, are in my opinion an outstanding bargain.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maki-Maki also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Maki-Maki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing