We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best kept secret in Bethesda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best kept secret in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Staff professional ...Great breakfast options....Rooms clean..can't go wrong for the $$$$$. Sad part is in 2013 They're demolishing the hotel as the owner is bringing in a Westin ....I luv them tooooo so out with the old and in with the new in 2013.....lets hope the staff has a home while the construction is ongoing .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackporsche2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    140
    51
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
68
39
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My initial impression of the hotel & room was not that good. It looks like it was a motel. The elevator is very small, esp the doorway. There is a rather loud heating unit. The shower is quite small with a cheesy door. There’s a curtain rather than a door on the closet. There appeared to be no full-length mirror. Days later I noticed there is a mirror in the back of the unlit closet. But after a few minutes the place grew on me. It is comfy & homey. The staff is very efficient & pleasant. The cleaning staff is not loud & obnoxious like they are at many other hotels. The place is spotless. I know others complained about wi-fi but I had no problems on the 3rd flr. The lobby has a nice seating area. Free breakfast is included. It’s nothing special but it’s a good starter for the day. This is a nice perk, not usually included in the DC area in my experience. The breakfast room is very small with only about 5 tables. You might want to sit in the lobby on the living room-type furniture. The hotel is in a great spot. It’s barely a 2-block walk to the Metro. There are blocks & blocks of all different kinds of restaurants nearby. Nice that there’s a Keurig, fridge & microwave in the room. Staff let me leave my car all day on my checkout day. My big complaint is that the breakfast staff is very annoying. Her cellphone went off constantly & she answered it & had full-blown conversations in Spanish daily. It’s a big problem here b/c the room is so small. She was in the way. She kept refilling things, which is nice, but she was in the way. The containers were full & she kept overfilling them possibly b/c she wasn’t paying attention b/c she was on her cell! Also, 1 day they were getting a replacement coffee pot. Instead of waiting 10 min until breakfast was over she had the guy change it so we couldn’t get coffee or tea. The vendor wanted to wait. She told him to change it now. I think the hotel mgr should have made that decision.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_R-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We negotiated a decent rate with this downtown Bethesda hotel. Apparently patients and their families who have appointments at NiH, Walter Reed, Naval Medical get reduced rates at this nearby property. Since most name brand hotels were close to $270 a night, we were thrilled to pay much less at this small property billing itself as Bethesda's jewel.

The location was great, very walkable to Metrorail Bethesda station, 100's of restaurants and shops... And our doctors offices.
Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Parking is a bit of a rip at $15 per night, there is a public garage a block away.

Staff were helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lotsasalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Bethesda Court Hotel while I was on a business trip to DC. My training center was just a few blocks away and the location was perfect. I think this place has its ups and downs.
Ups:
Location - great restaurants nearby (I highly recommend Black's Bar & Kitchen right behind the hotel), Metro is just a couple of blocks down.
Staff - very friendly and courteous. The shuttle service is a private car (brand new Chrysler 300) to take you where you need to go within 2 miles. It's first come first serve, but was nice to get to dinner.
Rooms - while small, they're comfortable and well-appointed. The bed was comfy. The air-conditioner was VERY loud though.

Downs:
The hallway was a bit smelly one day, like a rest-stop bathroom. Maybe it was a nasty bathroom, but it was pretty off-putting.
As noted above, the air conditioner was very loud.
The walls are a bit thin - we could hear the TV of the next room.
Rooms are not very spacious, but then again, it's just a place to sleep.
WIFI - it didn't really work on the 3rd floor, so if that's important to you ask for a lower room.

Overall - would I stay there again? Mmm, maybe. If I needed to save a few bucks, yes. If I could afford to do more, one of the higher priced ones in the area might end up feeling worth it.

Room Tip: Lower floors so you can get wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Btowntraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Bethesda Court Hotel is a cute hotel tucked away on Wisconsin Ave. We booked a room block for our out of town guests for our wedding in September. The group rates for rooms are very reasonably priced for the location – right in the heart of downtown Bethesda and just blocks from the Bethesda Metro station.

The courtyard is a quiet, relaxing, and wonderful place to entertain guests. We held a brunch in the courtyard the day after the wedding for our out of town guests and it was a big hit.

The staff are friendly and very accommodating. We would highly recommend the Bethesda Court Hotel for anyone looking to book a group rate for reasonable prices in downtown Bethesda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Bethesda Court Hotel is a small, clean, customer service focused hotel. They offer free WiFi, bottled water, chocolates on check-in, and a local shuttle service. It is well situated, the DC Metro and a thriving restaurant district are within walking distance. I attended a conference held 3 blocks down the street at a megahotel but chose to stay here--I paid a lot less for my room and felt well cared for by the staff. Would definitely stay here again if I came to Bethesda/D.C. area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard! Be aware you're in the city, traffic and trash truc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msnform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel was perfectly located and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff exceptionable - friendly, helpful and courteous. The neighbor restaurants were first rate. The nearby Metro station was convenient getting to the DC locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Property: Bethesda Court Hotel
Address: 7740 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing