We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good stay at the Bethesda Court Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good stay at the Bethesda Court Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent two weekend nights at the Bethesda Court while visiting the D.C. area. We chose this hotel through a Groupon offer that included the $15 parking fee, as it was so close to the Bethesda Metro Station, and we have friends who live in Bethesda.

I was a little apprehensive since I had never used Groupon for a hotel offer. So we were pleasantly surprised with our stay. The hotel while small in comparison to nearby hotels, had a comfortable and cozy lobby that was nicely appointed, and had a reading room feel to it. Our room was also cozy. It was clean and nicely furnished with a European aire to it. The bathroom was small, but very clean and also nicely appointed. The room had a flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, and a room safe. A paticulary nice extra is the coffee maker in the room, which is a Keurig K-Cup. And there was a selection of K-cups from which to choose.

A continental breakfast is included with your stay. It is served in a small room off the lobby, which gets crowded quickly. But there is a beautiul courtyard outside the lobby where you can take your food to eat. The selection was typical for a continental breakfast: Coffee (Starbucks brand) and juice (orange and cranberry), an assortment of bagels with butter and cream cheese, hard-boiled eggs, some pastries, milk, yogurt, and an assortment of cereals.

Unlike a previous reviewer that found the staff unfriendly and no written information on places to eat in the area. We found the desk staff to be friendly and helpful. And there was all kinds of information on places to eat and things to do in Bethesda. All in all, we had a delightful stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If there are just two people in the room, I would suggest a room with a king bed, rather than two be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJKNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    140
    51
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
68
39
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here whilst golfing and sight-seeing in the D.C. area.

Comfortable clean room and the hotel is well placed for shops and restaurants.

The Metro station is a couple of blocks away and within 20 minutes or so you are in downtown D.C.

Only slight annoyance was being charged $15 a night for parking but I suppose it is considered a city hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Court Hotel was a nice surprise and the area had access to everything we needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for three days with my girlfriend in August and had a great time. Luckily I had a couple friends in the area from college to point me to the good places to go because the hotel gives you basically no entertainment directory. There is a very nice shopping/dining area a couple blocks from the hotel that is not mentioned in their booklet that we found on the second day. P.S Go to the Mussel Bar! It is also conveniently located within walking distance of the Metro to DC. The service, however, is terrible. They have almost no accomodations and the showers for a 6'2" 195 lb man are pretttty tiny. Bring your own wine opener and glasses if you plan on popping a bottle open with your lady late-night because they certainly don't have any.

Also, on last day we went out for breakfast and specifically told the front desk we were NOT checking out. We got back well before the check out time and found our room keys to not work....they checked us out. We got new room key and discovered that they had cleaned the whole room...including the fridge with our Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and Mussel Bar leftovers. Certainly not a good note to end on.

I went on a Groupon so it was a good value for the price. Would I stay there again? Probably not unless they had another groupon deal. There's plenty of better hotels in the area.

Also, no pool. Super crappy gym. The theater across the street they advertise about isn't even open and very limited parking space in their lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stay there on a regular basis--very friendly and competent staff--clean-great location to walk most all ,of Bethesda--lots of restaurants and bars and stores and shops-in house breakfast-quiet garden terrace area courtyard

Room Tip: court side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandrewsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located close to NIH and transit. Staff was friendly and there are a couple of good restaurants in the area. There is very limited shopping locations, unless you are willing to walk some distance. The building is old. This means that the windows are thin, elevator small, and that the wiring was old...lots of extension cords for tv and lamps...difficult to charge phone. Shuttle service poor with unfriendly staff and tardiness.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Used a Groupon voucher for a stay at this hotel. The location is convenient to many local restaurants and not too far from dupont circle. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful during our check in too. The room was cute and cozy but most of the time was spent out and about. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to try the breakfast (was out too late at Woodmont Grill--right around the corner), but there is other options to try for breakfast (we did The Original Pancake House). Parking wasn't valet but conveniently right next to the hotel (lit parking lot and gated). Would def go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RV3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Property: Bethesda Court Hotel
Address: 7740 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing