We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice looking hotel. Excellent location in walking distance to many bars, restaurants, and the metro. They will give you a free car ride within 2 miles (the Bethesda area primarily). Friendly staff. It's an older hotel but it was remodeled not long ago. It has an elegant feel to it. Parking is $14 extra per day.

Make sure to check their website for any special discount rates:

bethesdacourtwashdc.com

Room Tip: Beautiful courtyard on the north side of the hotel, and you can request a stay on that side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    143
    52
    20
    15
See reviews for
109
68
39
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
264 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The major comment I have is that this was just an adequate hotel with high costs. It is close to NIH, clean and quiet. However, you cannot adequately control the heat & the breakfast was in a former closet where there was never enough room. I hope to never have to stay there again. It was not bad; it just wanted good enough for $200 per night. I stayed in better hotels at a third of the cost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here for 5 days in October over the Columbus Day weekend. Since I was driving to the area, I was concerned that I would have difficulties finding it off the beltway. My fears wre unfounded. The BCH was very easy to find off the 270 Beltway and centrally located in Bethesda. Bethesda MD is a short 15-20 minute ride on the Red Line to the middle of Washington DC (to the Metro Station, a 10 minute walk to the White House) and a much better and cheaper alternative to staying inside DC itself. The hotel is a short walk to the Bethesda Metro Station and also very close by to restaraunts & shops in the area. The people who run the hotel and work there were very pleasant & polite who work hard to ensure their customers are comfortable. My room was near the parking lot and I had no issues at all with noise from there or the street. The $14/day parking fee there is pretty reasonable compared to other places who charge $20 and up. Since I live close enough to the DC area, I drive there rather than fly and would personally prefer to pay this fee and not have to drive everywhere (and pay MORE parking fees) while leaving the car in their parking lot while I take the Metro everywhere.

This was my first trip to DC and this hotel exceeded my expectations in all aspects. From now on, when I come to DC I will only stay at the Bethesda Court Hotel and recommend others to stay here when they too come to DC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The pros: We chose this hotel because it was affordable (compared to the hotels in DC), and it was conveniently located near the Metro line. We purchased a day pass for the Metro and were able to easily vist all the DC sites. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was standard.
The cons: Our room faced the parking lot. It was pretty noisy far into the late hours of the night. The coffee maker in our room didn't work, but was replaced upon request. We didn't have a microwave in our room and had to walk quite a distance to use the one located next to the ice dispenser. Also, there was a $14 a day charge to park our car in the hotel parking lot. This charge seemed to be standard among hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamis3angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I've stayed at this small hotel near the Bethesda Metro Station several times, and have been most satisfied. The surroundings are comfortable and nicely furnished, and the staff goes above and beyond to meet my needs. From the bottled water on check-in to the free continental breakfast, this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleYakima_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Reasonable value, good location, modest setting.Clean, breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Bethesda Court Hotel in Bethesda, MD is a great place to stay. It is one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. Ed, the manager, and his staff are great. They go above and beyond to make sure our stay there is comfortable. They have a very nice continental breakfast and a great courtyard and lobby to gather in for relaxation and conversation. They also have a microwave, refrigerator and keurig coffeepots in each room and a nice workout room. This hotel is close to lots of good restaurants, theater, drug store, grocery store and a variety of fun shopping. It is also close to the Metro. We have been staying there quite frequently since May and it feels like home away from home and safe when we are there. If you are staying in Bethesda try the Bethesda Court Hotel. You will be glad you did. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Property: Bethesda Court Hotel
Address: 7740 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing