We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not a bargain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not a bargain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bethesda Court based on TripAdvisor reviews. Since we like well run motels, the reviews that emphasized this did not put us off. However, we were extremely surprised by the small size of the room. Think Manhattan, not Bethesda. The space is very tight, and since we stayed a few nights, there was barely enough storage. There is an extremely cramped space for hanging up times, with no room for suitcases. While the Bethesda Court is cheaper than some of the other area hotels, this is because it offers less, not because it is a bargain. We ended up going out for breakfast as the breakfast room was cramped and unpleasant and our room too small to eat in. We had reserved a "luxury" room, but saw no evidence of that. That said, if the Bethesda Court is significantly cheaper than other hotels when you go, it is clean, the bed comfortable, and the parking is easy to negotiate -- a plus in this area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    140
    51
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
68
39
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fishkill, ny
Level Contributor
207 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My sisters and I stayed there recently for a weekend. We were in town to watch the Rangers play the Caps at the Verizon Center. The hotel staff was pleasant and we were greeted with chocolates and bottles of water. Our room was clean, well-equipped with fridge, coffee maker, and flat screen tv. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We all slept well. The red line of the Metro subway was a block and a half away and we were 20 minutes to the arena and downtown area. Breakfast included cereals, juices, fruits, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, pastries, muffins, coffee, etc....The front desk staff were quick to answer questions about how to get to our destination. We ordered pizza and Chinese food to be delivered to the room.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bravefilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Even people in Bethesda are caught by surprise at the ambience of this boutique hotel, with it's amazing staff. Echoing all that is good with a European hotel, Bethesda Court is a winner. Small, comfortable and enticing, it is surround by restaurants, stores and is a hop skip and a jump from the Metro. From Joyce, Paula and Brandon on the front desk to those housekeepers who make the air and the building sparkle, there is little wrong.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorFonthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We discovered Bethesda Court via a friend's recommendation. Among other things, it was reasonably priced (in a metro area not famous for that!) and had easy access via the Metro to downtown D.C.

We were greeted warmly at the front desk like old friends (had never been there before), and that never changed during the five days we stayed there.

This comparatively small hotel is steeped in customer service. Uniformly pleasant and helpful staff were pro-active in helping us have a great stay with them and in DC.

It's a cozy, clean, charming place to stay. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which is a little gem within a little gem. We were close to multiple restaurants. And staff even helped us choose the best pizza delivery restaurant. (They were right!)

It was an altogether pleasant stay at Bethesda Court and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

I do not know staff who work there. I was not paid to write this glowing review. :) I will usually gritch if I'm not happy. Therefore, it seems only fair to praise when I am. And there you have it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanzibarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atco, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

MY husband stayed here before was very happy with it, so we came together for a get-away weekend, 2 nights. We were greeted by very friendly check in associates and it only took a few minutes and we we were in our room. It was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The hotel was quiet at night and even in the afternoon if you wanted a nap. It is close to excellent dining and shopping. We came for a juried art fair and we were only a few blocks away. The Hotel has 3 floors so we took the steps most of the time because that is what we like to do. A complementary breakfast included delicious coffee, choice of teas, 6 types of cold cereal, fresh fruit, juices milk, pastry (really good Pastry) bagels, muffins, breads, Hardboiled eggs etc. Very good and very fresh. WE LOVED IT AND RECOMMEND IT! They know what they are doing. Also, very important, there is a microwave and coffee maker in the room and an EMPTY FRIDGE. There is a Safeway Supermaker nearby so you can stock your fridge if you want to. It is not filled with rip off stuff like many other hotels. We recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SybilDinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel and we're already looking forward to the next time. It was a hop and a skip on the Metro into DC. The Metro is about 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. The neighborhood was clean, safe with some nightlife and plenty of restaurants. Couldn't ask for more. The hotel staff was wonderful, helpful and so nice. The room was fabulous, courtyard was cozy and it was nice to be able to sit outside to enjoy their complimentary breakfast. We would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesmoRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Bethesda Court hotel is operated by the Golden Tulip chain. The reason I mention this is because one can find reviews on this hotel under Bethesda Court and also Golden Tulip.

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel near a subway station, center of Bethesda and in a safe neighborhood. This hotel met those needs.

The hotel is small, well kept, and tucked away on the busy Wisconsin blvd. Front desk was very swift and polite. Lobby was small but well appointed. The lobby also has a computer and printer that can be used without charge (e.g., printing airline tickets). There is a free continental breakfast in a very tiny room that was very difficult to maneuver through. However, just outside is a very nice, serene garden with tables and chairs. There is a very small gym on the second floor with enough equipment for anyone that wants a good workout (not many guests were using it while I was there). The neighborhood, off Wisconsin, is safe enough for a morning jog.

The room was average size, very clean, furnished well, cable LCD TV, free high speed wireless internet. Beds were extremely comfortable. I would describe the room as borderline luxury. Bathroom was small but very clean and nicely done.

The price was good for Bethesda. The hotel is located three short blocks from the Red Line Metro station. It is also very close to the center of Bethesda with lots of shops and restaurants.

I was here on business but if a visitor to DC wanted to stay outside the city, this spot would be a good location as it takes no time at all to get downtown on the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
0.3 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Property: Bethesda Court Hotel
Address: 7740 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#6 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing