We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Place - Thanks for Keepin' On!”
Review of Pines of Rome

Pines of Rome
Ranked #37 of 365 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Place - Thanks for Keepin' On!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We've been going to the Pines of Rome since Bethesda was a small town without the metro-associated highrises. When there were local shops and stores. Thankfully, this establishment remains open despite all of the new building and activity in the area (making parking a problem, but on a weeknight, the garage across the street is $6 bucks).

The food is not gormet, but is highly satisfying. Start with a white pizza as an appetizer, but first make sure that you check out the chalk-boad specials. Something is always new and interesting. The pasta is freshly made, al dente, and accompanies most dishes. The seafood is excellent, the meats acceptable, but the pasta dishes are really great. Manicotti, ravioli, etc. etc. The old standards, well done, served efficiently in a family-friendly atmosphere. The wine list by the bottle is expensive, but the house wine by the litre is perfectly fine and reasonably priced.

Is this a foodie place? Not realy. But it is a satisfying place where, year after year, the traditional family-style neighborhod place continues to offer what we're looking for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryfromChevyChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    46
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's hard to not like a restaurant with 30-65 year old waiters in long sleeve white shirts (mine had worked there for 30 years!). I ordered the fried zucchini appetizer (very lightly breaded, so quite fresh-tasting) and lasagna (hand made noodles, great sauce, not spicey meat). Get a carafe of the house red!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Classic Italian American home style food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Bethesda and I have yet to leave disappointed. It is casual, kid friendly and good for groups. Be sure to check out the blackboard as you enter for specials- some go pretty quickly like the artichokes!

Wine is served by the glass or carafe and is a reasonably priced addition to your meal. To start, we often get an order of the fried zucchini for the table (actual circles of zucchini in a batter that are fried) and a cheese less pizza (dough brushed with garlic, herbs and olive oil). As some people have said, the house bread is nothing special but the kids seem to enjoy it.

For my main course my go to dishes are either the eggplant parmigiana with a side of aglio olio pasta or the cutlet Milanese with the same pasta side. You can get traditional red sauce or meat sauce too. Kids seem to enjoy the spaghetti with meatballs. Their pizzas are tasty though not "gourmet". They are always well liked by the table. They have some good shrimp dishes and fra diavolo pasta with seafood too.

For dessert there are limited offerings but the tartufo is usually the way to go if you want something sweet with your coffee.

Service is efficient and it is a bit noisy. Don't be afraid to ask for your leftovers to go! The prices are very reasonable, especially for this area and the portions are generous. If you are looking for a place to call your local Italian restaurant this is it. For the 10+ years I have been going there I don't think anything has changed on the menu. And that is a very good thing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATWTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Get the white pizza”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The only place I have ever been to that serves a special white pizza that is out of this world. I have eaten it there for over 40 years and no one else makes it like this. Don't miss.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardjwaksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pizza For The Gods”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

You really have to be looking for the Pines of Rome restaurant in Bethesda, Maryland. It's just a rather small and very old almost hole in the wall kind of establishment in the middle of a block of other shops. There is nothing particularly inviting about the building but for those in the know....there is something particularly inviting inside.
Whenever I am anywhere near Bethesda I have one mission. The Pines of Rome. The tables are covered with checkered clothes and the house wine is served in plain glasses the size of a fruit jar. The menu is filled with every Italian dish possible and the walls are lined with framed articles from the Post and the Times along with awards for their delicious selections. I come for the White Pizza. My family comes for the boulaise and spaghetti. The children order all sorts of combinations of the pizza. When the orders are placed they come to the table with their version of an appetizer.......white pizza. The crust is tossed until it is extra thin and then brushed with family grown olive oil from the old country, covered with a fine selection of white cheeses and herbs and then baked to perfection. I enjoy the one brought for the table and then I order another one just for me. I also order one of the largest sizes to go so that I can stock the freezer in our RV.
If you are in the D.C. area and in the mood for Italian then make the effort to drive into Bethesda and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pines of Rome also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Pines of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing