We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great, reasonable Italian food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pines of Rome

Pines of Rome
Ranked #28 of 340 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, reasonable Italian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Open late and wonderful, casual atmosphere with great prices and homemade Italian food. Service is fast. Carafes of wine too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I can't say it was a horrible meal, but it was truly average. We ordered the white pizza based on the reviews and it was fine, but again, nothing amazing. The place is kind of old and run down, with pretty nasty bathrooms. I don't want them to lose business but I really don't see what the excitement is. They did give us a pitcher of water right when we go there, which was great because we were all really thirsty and they replaced it again as soon as we finished it, so that was a plus. The red sauce was definitely homemade and had big chunks of fresh tomato in it, so that was good. The eggplant parmesean was pretty bad - too thickly sliced and extremely bland. Sorry! I hate giving bad reviews, but this was honest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Ristorante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have eaten here numerous times and ith gives us a bit of a feeling as though we were back in Naples or rome at a little out of the way place. The basic entrees and Pizza age good and it is great for families of all sizes and ages. We also enjoy their takeout Pizza.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ogre1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best WHITE PIZZA EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Everything I have had there is terrific but the white pizza makes me go back several times a month.....awesome!! We have neighborhood ladies dinners there for 30 + and they all ask for white pizza.
Great food, very casual, nothing fancy but excellent food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Beane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
451 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a very good Italian resteraunte with a nice venue in downtown Bethesda. Great place for families and a good wine selection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pines of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Pines of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing