We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pines of Rome

Pines of Rome
4709 Hampden Ln, Bethesda, MD 20814-2909
301-657-8775
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 330 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

No one goes to the Pines for the ambience, unless eating in a noisy, busy place is your idea of a good time. No, the locals go to the Pines for the comfort food -- simple Italian that's the same for decades. The place is crawling with families and neighbors. You can always run into folks you know if you live nearby. You can count on well-prepared pasta, veal dishes, and antipasto (made with iceberg lettuce). Nothing fancy, for sure, but definitely dependable and popular.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PickyEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classic Italian spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

When my grandmother was alive, we visited DC from California often, and we would go to Pines multiple times every trip. After her death, we stopped visiting, but we flew out for a cousin's wedding in May. With all of the festivities, we had only one meal free. Without even considering anything else, we went to Pines. It's just that good. The white pizza alone is worth the 3,000 mile flight. I always get the veal parmesan as my entree, but I have never heard a bad word about any item. It's a very accommodating of large groups, and the service is always up to snuff. I don't think I will ever visit DC again without a trip to the Pines and neither should you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neighborhood joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have been going here for over 15 years. The lobby used to be so crowded- the wait was listed on a sign. Now you can walk right in, since so many other restaurants have opened in Bethesda. The service and ambiance is almost rough, but that creates a unique atmosphere, like a neighborhood joint. The food has stayed consistently good but the prices have jumped. Just came back from there at $65 for two. The only place I know that will serve wine in a water glass and fill it to the top.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank woodie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing White Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The white pizza is the best! A must have if you are in the D.C. area. Located a short walk from the metro, Pines of Rome has been there for years. I used to eat there when I was a kid and recently got to enjoy it again on a visit to D.C. I wish they had pizza like this back home.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Pines of Rome is not where you go to impress or to be impressed. This is where you go for good food, fast service, and a good down home neighborhood ambience that is passed down from generation to generation . I have been going here for years and the quality holds up. I may be a little biased because I swear they must have stolen my Grandmother's recipe for sauce. I usually get a pasta dish and they are all excellent. I have also had the chicken parmesan and cacciatore and they are of the same quality, and be sure to order the white pizza for an appetizer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank db1812x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pines of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Pines of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing