We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, poor service”
Review of Kabob Bazaar

Kabob Bazaar
Ranked #50 of 365 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Norfolk Street
Transit: One block from Bethesda Metro station
Description: An Iranian restaurant serving Persian cosine. Beef,chicken,lamb, and seafood kabobs served with Basmati rice , tandoori bread, and salads. A lots of vegetarian and low carb choices. We serve wine and beer. One of the highlights of this restaurant is the daily specials.
California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very good food, poor service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The kabobs we ordered were very good. The bread was a little disappointing, since other reviewers really raved about the bread. It was a little dry. The prices were very good. The service was pretty bad, though. We felt ignored and it took forever to get our check. I never understand why restaurants do this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Place or a Great Meal and Dirt Cheap”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Five of us had a great mideastern dinner here and the bill including drinks with tip was around $100. We walked out stuffed.

The chicken and beef kabobs were top-notch and the Ash-E-Reshteh soup was excellent.

Highly recommend. I'll go back in a second.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishloverdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loved chicken thigh kabob...”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had dinner at Kabob Bazaar last week and it was delicious. I had one lamb kabob and one chicken thigh kabob.....I loved that they offered a thigh kabob....seems like everywhere you go it is always a chicken breast and only occasionally a half of a chicken.....both were very good but the chicken was the best....maybe the best chicken I have had in a restaurant. The rice was tdf....so good. And our waiter was really nice and there when you wanted him to be there. My husband had a salmon kabob which was cooked just right....not over done.....and our daughter had a chicken breast kabob and lamb kabob. Very good bread too. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Second time round”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday was our second visit to Kabob Bazaar. Both times have been for lunch and we've come away very happy. The Kabobs are delicious and we had enough to get two meals out of their portions. My husband had the lamb soltani and I had the chicken soltani. Both were succulent, cooked to perfection, served with rice. I love the yogurt/mint sauce with kabobs and there was plenty left over from the salad/bread appetizer that comes with a meal. That's a nice touch and much appreciated but beware of eating too much: entree portions are very generous. I also had a hot Persian Tea which was equally delicious. We have quite a few Persian/Iranian restaurants in our area but this is definitely the best. The service is usually impeccable, although yesterday our waiter made us feel a little bashful that a)we were using a coupon and b) it was really only valid for dinner (note to self to read the small print). He let us get away with it but a little condescendingly. Why do restaurants offer Groupons/coupons if they make patrons feel awkward? We're giving full marks as apart from the comment above, we love coming to this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food !”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this restaurant on tripadvisor, we had dinner, the staff was really good and the food was very good too !! But I'm not sure if the restaurant deserves the first place in the area !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gisele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabob Bazaar also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
 

Been to Kabob Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing