We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night dining fun”
Review of Food Wine and Co. - CLOSED

Food Wine and Co.
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bethesda Metro
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saturday night dining fun”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

6 of us went to dinner on a Saturday night before going to the comedy show at the Hyatt down the block. Friendly waiter, David, seated us in the back room where you could easily converse without straining to hear. We had a fun meal of well-priced wine, delicious burgers, scrumptious tater-tots, and mussels to die for. The beet appetizer was so-so, wouldn't recommend. Fries and chips are outstanding. We'll definitely go back. With wine, appetizers, and entrees averaged $40 per person after tip, and we were there for an hour and a half. Excellent service from beginning to end.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    102
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Late lunch was so good i can't wait to return for dinner”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Great menu, knowledgeable server, excellent portions, great location... Really enjoyed every aspect of the meal. Can't complain about any of it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I hope last night was just a blip”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times. Last night we arrived for our 8:15 reservations and what a mess! There were gobs of people crowded around the maitre de. Not a good sign. People with reservations for 7:30 had still not gotten seated. There seemed to be chaos going on and the best excuse I was able to get was that they couldn't ask people to leave their tables. Why not? If people have finished their meals, and are spending an overly long time lingering while people with reservations are waiting for 45 or more minutes, than I say that they should politely ask those diners lingering to leave. Am I wrong? We have not had this experience in the past but we ended up leaving because we saw the writing on the wall. Hope they fixed whatever went wrong last night because if it happens again, we won't go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillnt6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was part of a group of 8 that enjoyed dinner recently at F&W. It was on a Friday night, so the place was quite busy. That said, the service was outstanding all night long, and the food was very good. To start, we had the tater tots, artichokes and a pizza. I think everyone ordered a different main course, including various specials (lamb, rabbit, monkfish). We shared a couple of desserts. At the end of the night, the total bill came out to about $150 per couple to include all food, drinks, tips etc. A lot of that was drinks. If we cut back on the booze, the price would have been considerably lower. All in all, a great night and definitely a place I'd recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I can never decide how much I really like this place.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been there a few times now and can't decide if it is a neat, neighborhood place with a nice beer list and some fun food, or if it is a crowded, over-hyped, trendy place that I am going to get sick of sooner rather than later. Always crowded, so make reservations or go early to get a spot at the bar. The food never quite ends up as being as good as I think it should be. Most recently we had the tator tots, deviled eggs, and 30 min chicken. The tator tots were good, but could have been a bit crispier, the deviled eggs were blah and the chicken was juicy but too salty. I will probably give the place a couple of more tries because I want to like it, but we'll see. There are better places to go in Bethesda.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Wine and Co. also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing