We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was in a great location. Walk to all the restaurants and shops in Bethesda. Nice town with a lot of restaurants to choose from. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Standard Hilton room. Clean and neat. Breakfast was good, too. Starbucks on the next corner was a plus for my girls. Bethesda is doing a lot of beautification projects. Expect some traffic delays and some noise on the street. Did not effect my stay, just an FYI.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    304
    87
    17
    12
See reviews for
223
143
48
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here while traveling back from NC. Rooms and hotel is a bit pricey for the value, room smelt stale. Pool was only 3 ft deep all around, disappointing-Free beer or wine voucher for bar upon check-in BUT bar was not stocked, out of just about everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank michellelB1091CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda and it was great. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us on more than one occasion. We felt very safe there and loved that it was so close to so many restaurants and stores and just a short drive into DC. One negative would be the drunk, loud neighbors we had, which was taken care of immediately once I called the front desk. Also, I think that the price for the breakfast buffet is too much ($14.95) for what was offered. Otherwise it was a great place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kradermacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

They did not want to honor the rate on my reservation! I spent 20 minutes when I checked in and another 30 minutes the following day trying to resolve the issue. The front desk manager assured me it was taken care of. Of course when I checked out the rate was STILL WRONG! Again I spent 20 minutes but she was not able to resolve but she promised she would email a corrected invoice. Of course she did not. I called the manager - Steve McPherson and left him a detailed voice message. Mr. Mcpherson did not bother to return my call. Incredibly poor customer service!! the worst!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanelle L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Snoopy B.,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff to ensure next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service.

As I would like to personally assist with your next reservation in hopes you consider staying with us again, please call or email me directly at wasbt-ds@hilton.com.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn was just fine, but I am somewhat surprised by all the rave reviews it's been getting from other visitors. The staff is friendly and helpful, but the hotel amenities and rooms were fairly average. That's not to say it's not a good place to stay, but that you might not want to get your hopes up that it's an "excellent' hotel. It was nice and clean, but our room was in need of updating and had a musty smell to it. I do agree that the location is great for those wanting to explore Bethesda or looking to hop the metro to DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

First impression....wow...great customer service with free chips, bottled water and some free beverages awaiting you. Room smells so clean and is immaculate. I still clean every room I stay in but this was impressive. The location...perfect. it's walking distance to great shops and restaurants. If you like sushi..go to Raku. I would stay here any time. Easy commute to D.C.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed twice in the last two months at this hotel while visiting D.C. Chose this location because: 1. the traffic driving to/from Bethesda wasn't too bad, 2. the metro ride into D.C. was only 20 minutes on the red line, 3. the hotel is a couple minute walk to not only the metro but also to many, many restaurants, shops and a Regal movie theater 4. Hotel parking is only $15 (compared to other big city hotels this is reasonable) and 5. the AAA room rate couldn't be beat. 6. free Wi-Fi that actually worked! 7. Room had fridge.
Came back the second time because the hotel was clean, rooms quiet, nice indoor pool with hot tub, yummy free beverages in the lobby, complementary beverage in the bar, nice friendly staff and all of the above original criteria were met.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8t2bhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Address: 7301 Waverly St, Bethesda, MD 20814-3330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing