We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God help you if you need to get in touch with a guest!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“God help you if you need to get in touch with a guest!!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband travels all over the country. Never have I had such a difficult time trying to call him. The staff here is rude, neglegent, and untrained. He was staying at this hotel for three nights. During that time I spent about 30 minutes on hold. He said the room was nothing special, either. He also told me that the staff was not friendly as he checked in. This place really stinks for the $$$ they charge and the entire management needs to be seriously evaluated. I prefer Holiday Inn Express or even Days Inn to these incompetent idiots.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanelle L, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service from our staff while trying to reach your husband. The problems you mentioned with staff courtesy have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    347
    98
    27
    15
See reviews for
275
164
54
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took our daughter to American University that was only 2 Metro stops away at Tenleytown. This hotel is about 3 short blocks to the Metro. Easy walking. Close to some nice restaurants-also about three short blocks. On the Red Line, can get to Union Station in under 30 minutes. Cost is about 3.75 each way to downtown. Hotel is clean. Beds are comfortable and adjustable mattresses. Hot tub and pool are ok, pool a little too cold for my liking. Reasonable exercise room. Nice little food shop at front desk. Restaurant in hotel was not very good and I would not recommend it. Parking in adjacent garage with unlimited in and out for $15 seems good for the area. About 3 miles to American University Campus.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for exercise room and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryloujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its convenient location in Bethesda, Maryland, which is one of the main suburbs of Washington DC. It is located 2 minutes away from the Red Line of the Metro, which can transport you to downtown Washington within 20 minutes. Bethesda's multitude of bars and restaurants are a walkable distance away. The hotel has convenient parking, which is key for Bethesda which is always short of available street parking on the weekends.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and WiFI is free. We did not try the food but the hotel is nice enough to put out delicious cookies out in the evening.

The only negative is the staff is not very service oriented and they are a little understaffed. We wanted them to call a cab for us and we got the sense that it was a really taxing for them to do so while also dealing with other guests.

Check in and Check out were both fast and easy. If they just had done a better job of attracting cabs say with a cab light or perhaps a direct line to a big cab company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajoy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on business in the immediate area. Hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the nearby Bethesda Metro stop. Fast and efficient check-in. Very large, pleasant, quiet, clean room with comfortable bed and bathroom. Good, varied breakfast with very pleasant service. Good choice for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed a week in July and opted for the parking and breakfast package (definately the way to go) the staff made everything perfect.
The day we arrived, we tried to check in early, but our room was not available and were told to come back at 3pm (stated check in time). We went out and had lunch, toured the area and returned just after 3pm. Our room was still not ready, but were able to get into the room by 3:45 pm.
The room was on the second floor near the elevator and pool and was very clean with all the required needs (fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, and free wireless internet).
The parking was easy and convient and the parking garage was connected to the hotel and we able to come and go with the parking and breakfast package. It should be noted on the day you check-out, you are still allowed to use the parking garage until 3pm without additional charges. We actually left around 3:05 pm and had problems using our card to exit the lot, but a quick trip to the front desk, fixed everything up without issue.
The breakfast (included in our package) was great. You could either help your self from the buffet (eggs, sausage, bacon, hashbrowns, fruit, yogurt, juice, toast) or order from the kitchen and have an omlette made just the way you want. We left a cash tip everymorning with breakfast, but when we checked out, a daily tip was added to our room charge. A quick talk to the front desk and an explanation and the error charge was removed from our bill.
The hotel is in a perfect location, with the Bethesda metro station one block north and many fine eateries within walking distance from the hotel (Mongolian BBQ - All you can eat, Moon Gate - Chinese Food, Sweet Green - Salad paradise and Vapiano - Pasta bar).
All guest floors (including the pool) require card access to get to and the pool was nice, with a lifeguard on duty (but no deeper than 4 feet).
There was also a close large park just off the back of the hotel, which you would never know it was their, unless you were looking for it.

Room Tip: If traveling with small children and plan on spending lots of time in the pool, try to get on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_guru_r_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location off Wisconsin. 3 blocks to metro-but beware escalators out- had to drag my luggage down steps. Very dark, humid metro station. Instead of paying $35 to go to Reagan airport- thought to save $30. Ick! Never again. Took an hour and I was hot and tired when I got the airport. Back to hotel. Very nice and helpful desk staff. Ate at restaurant and it wasn't great but nice fast service.m I like the pantry off the front desk. You can get lean cuisine to have in room, ice cream, snacks,etc. a bit pricey but on one night it was all I wanted. Rooms are huge. Ice in each floor. My room was very quiet. Nice toiletries and nice size shower with a high rain shower head. Big tv but some channels fuzzy. Big desk, free wifi. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Palm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here the other night for business. The Hilton is in walking distance to some very nice restaurants & only a block to the Metro.
The room was very clean and the mattress was nicer then the one I have at home. Now I need to get a new mattress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricLumberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Address: 7301 Waverly St, Bethesda, MD 20814-3330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing