We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Great location in the heart of Bethesda, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, a hiking/biking trail and the subway into DC. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. HD TV (but no TCM). Staff was less than friendly, though. On check-in, the receptionist coughed and sneezed while handing me my credit card and room card. A worker in the buffet area was also unhelpful, making me feel that I was a bother when I asked a question. But weekend rate was very low. Parking in a garage under the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarySaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 906 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Spent three nights here recently for a work trip. Liked how close it was to the Metro - very convenient. Free internet was nice, business center worked well for printing. The room had a firdge and microwave, which is handy when staying multiple nights. Bathroom was decent - good water pressure, nice amenities. I would return here for business again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter for a Dad/Daughter weekend in D.C.

The hotel is well located, only a short walk to the Metro station. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

When we arrived, we were told that the pool was not open, which was a disappointment to my daughter and the hotel did not offer any alternative, which was a bummer. This took some shine off out stay as she was looking forward to this. Also, the TV channel selection in the room was poor and there were no pay movies either, so we were stuck watching inferior channels. The hotel should be less stingy and upgrade its cable package. I have not stayed in hotel for years thta does not offer in-room movies/TV, this includes many Hilton Garden Inns.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and the overall service was very good.

Breakfast was very average, with a selection of hot and cold items, but nothing special. Glad we got our breakfast free as a HHonors Gold member. Don't think I would have paid $13 for it. We did not try the evening menu or the bar, which seemed very quiet.

Although the hotel is in a good location and set back from Wisconsin Avenue, so not as noisy as other hotels in the area, I was suprised at the parking rate of $15 per day. The area has parking which is much cheaper than this over the weekend and really the hotel should provide parking for free or at least at a discount.

Overall, a good hotel and a good choice for a short stay in Bethesda, but I may decie to stay elsewhere on my next trip next month to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I come to Bethesda every week for work, and have tried out three area of the main name brand hotels, the Hilton Garden Inn, the Residence Inn, and the DoubleTree. Of these three, I'd rank them as 1) HGA, 2) Residence Inn, and 3) the Double Tree. I put the HGA and Residence Inn very close in rank, while the Double Tree I'd put a distant third.

The HGA usually has the lower rate, even when booking the breakfast package, compared to the Residence Inn, which has breakfast as well. Obviously the rooms are smaller and there isn't the manager's reception like at the Residence Inn, but that isn't a factor for me. If you need a kitchen and can pay a few extra $$, then go w/ the Residence Inn. The HGA seems newer and cleaner. Workout facilities are bigger and better at the RI. At the RI, they have 4 treadmills, several ellipticals, and bikes, but the room is in the basement. The HGA only has 2 treadmills, one elliptical, and one bike, but it does have the indoor pool. Breakfast is way overpriced at the HGA, unless you get the breakfast package. These hotels are across the street from each other and very close to all the great Bethesda eateries. Staff at both hotels are very friendly and helpful. Internet connection seems much faster at the RI than the HGA. The HGA has some sort of number bed system, which, surprisingly, I found to make a significant difference. In summary, the rate difference and the beds push the Hilton Garden Inn above the Residence Inn. (of course, in Bethesda, all rates are very high!)

The DoubleTree, is a number of blocks away. It's older and much more dated than the other two. I only stayed here once, but prefer either of the other two much more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank totonka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Hilton garden inn in Bethesda has great proximity to the red line Bethesda station and has excellent facilities

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This review focuses on the only negative aspect of the hotel and that was the American Grill. I ate dinner there on one night of my stay. After waiting close to ten minutes to be seated, I finally had to track someone down. Everyone, including the hostess was in the back at 8:45 p.m.

I ordered the chicken ciabatta sandwich. Although it promised to be grilled, and to be fair, the chicken was, the sandwich as a whole was microwaved to the point of being soggy. The unsweetened iced tea I ordered tasted of dish soap. I guess I should have guessed when I was the only customer for an hour and a half. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Great location. Modern, bright and colorful decor. Room was big and comfortable. Free wireless internet. Lot of great eating places nearby. Full cooked breakfast with buffet for $12.95. Parking is next door with direct entrance to the lobby for $15/day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIBethesda, Sales Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Greetings!

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Bethesda! and taking time out to share your experience with others.

We really appreciate all the feedback we get and we continue to strive to offer 'hassle free' hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
438 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly St, Bethesda, MD 20814-3330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $121 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing