We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A neighborhood gem and a wonderful bakery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praline Bakery & Bistro

Praline Bakery & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Praline Bakery & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Dessert in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd
Transit: Metro Red Line to Friendship Heights, then Ride On Bus 23 to Sangamore Rd.
Description: Praline Bakery & Bistro opened its doors on Sangamore Road in Bethesda, Maryland, in April 2006, the culmination of years of partnership and planning by co-owners Susan Limb and Patrick Musel, whose love of fine cuisine and talent for creating delectable pastries led them here. Together, they wanted to build a welcoming neighborhood place where people of all ages could gather for a good meal, a quality pastry, or coffee. Every day, we try our best to provide just that.Praline Bakery prepares pastries fresh daily, using the finest ingredients and no preservatives. Come in and taste some of our delectable breakfast pastries and cakes which include traditionally made croissants, which include butter, chocolate, and almond, and danishes, such as apple walnut, pecan raisin, and raspberry almond twists. We offer a variety of cakes that is sure to please almost any palate – from French chocolate mousse to an American carrot cake.Praline Bistro is open for lunch Monday through Saturday, dinner Monday through Sunday and Brunch on Sunday. All meals our prepared by our culinary team led by Executive Chef Christian Gautrois.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem and a wonderful bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is primarily a bakery, which also serve lunch and tea. Always I was there I see a very distinctive clients in a quite environment. The sandwiches, sweets and other dishes available in the menu are delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Always enjoy the delicious pastries at Praline's. Whenever we go, we end up getting much more than we should. This last time, between the two of us, we had five pastries. My favorite was actually the savory ham and cheese croissant.

The upstairs restaurant is a nice treat too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodKnight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“one of Bethesda's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

this is one of the very best places in the Bethesda area to go for brunch...the good is so, so good...there is also a bakery where you can pick something up to take home...it is a very popular place so it is a good idea to make reservations

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food, unassuming atmosphere, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Praline for the first time last night, having decided to try it on the strength of the reviews. Everyone is right - the location might be a bit off-putting, in a sort of strip mall (but we were intrigued by other offerings at the mall so might return to check them out), and the inside is perfectly nice but not fabulous. I was impressed with how friendly the owner?/maitre d'? was when he seated us - he seemed delighted to have us there. The staff was warm and attentive (after a brief dead time in the beginning waiting for someone to take our drink order), and the food did not disappoint. I had the Praline salad and found it delicious, and I had the special seared sea scallops on butternut risotto with brussel sprouts - what a heavenly dish! The scallops were perhaps the teensiest bit overdone, but basically this was a fantastic dish. My dining partner had the burger, which he said was delicious - albeit a bit small (and for $15, he wants a big burger!). The french fries were lovely - some of the best I've had. We look forward to going back so we can try the chicken pot pie. Although the regular menu is indeed fairly limited, there were numerous specials, so I felt that we had plenty to choose from. My one disappointment was that I had looked at the menu their website ahead of time and was thinking I'd like the Vegetable Napoleon - but it was missing from the menu! Praline, please update your online menu, so you don't tempt and then disappoint in this way (luckily the special that I had more than made up for the let-down). With good-sized glasses of wine that aren't too overpriced (my Merlot was lovely, and only $7), we definitely plan to return to Praline. Especially since we were too full for dessert, and we must return to try what their bakery has to offer!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nature4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Praline's delivers the (baked) goods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A combo fine dining/bakery establishment located within the unassuming confines of a Bethesda strip-mall, Praline's was a pleasant surprise for a recent Sunday brunch. The grilled vegetable wrap was delish, though the side of salad was a bit overboard on the greens. Bakery items are fresh and good. Service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodTaste14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praline Bakery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Praline Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing