We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costco Beef is Better”

Oakville Grille and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Oakville Grille and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Democracy Blvd
Transit: Grosvenor Metro Metro Bus
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Costco Beef is Better”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The ambiance at the Oakville Grille is quite nice and the decibel level is better than most in DC. In our recent experience, however, the menu and the quality of the food was inconsistent. The two main seafood entrees had the same sauce - a menu faux pas. If you are not into lemongrass-coconut sauce - oh well. The beef entree was flavorless and just not good quality. I had the special of the week (stuffed peppers) which were uniquely prepared and quite good.

Overall - a mediocre evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keywestgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was skeptical.... but extremely happy with the evening.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I hosted a group of co-workers this week at the Oakville Grille and Wine Bar. It was very close to the hotel in which we were staying and had good ratings and an interesting selection of wines so we ventured out. All 6 of us ordered something different and the meals were all very good. It was a nice atmosphere inside and the staff was very attentive. Will definitely be back when in Bethesda.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farrahtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yes, Bethesda, there is fine dining in a strip shopping center”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Oakville Grille pulls off in a neighborhood shopping center the high-end menu and dining experience one would normally associate with city-center or countryside setting. Having dined there with an old friend a few times lately, I recently steered hungry co-workers there for dinner to laving praise afterwards. Service is attentive and gracious without being intrusive or pretentious, and a mix of French and California dishes stream from the kitchen cooked to perfection with an ideal hand at seasoning. Better yet, an impressive global wine list implores exploration, and the wait staff is fit for the task of recommending pairings to suit one's meal and one's palette. Make sure you leave room for dessert, too, and remember when you're at the end of the meal that a lovely cheese plate appeared on the apps list!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of the northern Washington suburbs”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Once you enter this restaurant, you forget that it is located in a strip mall; the room is quite inviting and the tables well laid out. Service was friendly and very attentive. I found the menu to be comprehensive, but I was quite impressed when the appetizers arrived. The quality of the food and of the presentation, the generous portions, the taste, all were excellent. I had the mussels and was suprised by the exquisite taste of the broth. I could not wait to see what the main courses would be like, and I was not disappointed. On the contrary. The baked cod and the lamb platters were worthy of the best restaurants I have been to. I am sorry we did not discover this restaurant sooner!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“dull”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is not an interesting restaurant menu wise.The food is forgettable as is the service.

Helpful?
Thank Jillnt6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grille and Wine Bar also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
North Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Oakville Grille and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing