We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Fun night for adults only” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laugh Riot at Positano Italian Restaurant

Laugh Riot at Positano Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Nightlife in Bethesda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Laugh Riot at Positano(formerly Laugh Riot at Hyatt) Live Standup Comedy Show Saturday Nights in Bethesda 3 local DC-MD-VA area comedians Every Saturday night 8pm to 9:30 pm $10 Cash-at-door Admission. Main Dining Room opens 5pm for Dinner & Drinks. Comedy Showroom (next door) opens 7:15pm for DRINKS ONLY-NO FOOD. No Reservations. First come, First seated. No Advance Seat Sales. Positano Italian Restaurant 4948 Fairmont Ave (off Old Georgetown Rd, look for the blue/green awning ) Bethesda, MD 20814 StandupComedyToGo. com
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun night for adults only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Took family and friends to "Laugh Riot at the Hyatt" in Bethesda last night....the emcee, two featured comics, and the newcomer were all terrific. We laughed so hard that our voices got hoarse. This is clearly an adults only show- do not bring in any small children, (I wouldn't bring anyone under 16), and definitely not for anyone who would be offended by Comedy Central's offerings. Lots of laughs for just $10. One highlight is the "Everyone's a Comedian" portion....audience members tell jokes to compete for free tickets, a t-shirt, and $25. Brush up on your delivery of your favorite short and dirty joke- my husband was the winner last night!!

Visited March 2013
4 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent. Never dissapoints.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This show is always great. The comics are consistently good. On occasion a newbie will come up who isn't as polished as the others, but considering where the show is and the venue, this is an hidden gem. I never fail to have a good time and one of the best parts is watching the reactions of all the other audience members who are in stitches the entire time. Great cultural mix at the Hyatt show as well - all walks of life, race, orientation enjoying a great time. Many of these comics are better than what you find on TV.

Visited May 2012
2 Thank Strab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I didn't have high hopes for this show given it was at a hotel in Bethesda and only cost $10. But we live near by so we tried it and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the talent. Lots of laughs. Look forward to returning.

Visited April 2012
2 Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My stand up Debut!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great way to spend an early Saturday evening! No reservations are permitted or required. It is first come first seated. No saving seats but it did happen and i stopped short of making a scene. The manager was kind enough to find us another table seat since we did bring food with us from the Daily Grill. I would not recommend doing 'to go' food for the show, just because not many others chose to do that. the one comedian described it best.."you are NOT in a comedy club, you are in a small conference room in the basement of a hotel with a fake brick stage drape"...that was funny, but the quality of the entertainment was excellent. There was a nice mix of 'newbie' comics who you could tell were a little nervous but did their best and enough very talented artists at the skill of making people laugh that it was thoroughly a positive experience and 2 hours that passed very quickly! I suppose it made it even better when in the finale portion of the show, 3 audience members were invited to tell a joke to win a prize of a t-shirt. The first 3 were so bad, the host offered for one more to step-up...sucker that i am..i felt i could do better than they did. Of course i proceeded to tell a fairly funny 2 line joke..leaving out one of the key words, making it sound totallly stupid!! One more woman was given a chance after my fiasco..lol...and she pulled it off to win the prize. My date and i laughed more at my faux pas than any of the jokes told. A good time was had by all..:)

Visited February 2012
3 Thank drsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap Night Out!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

$10 cover gets you a night of laughs. Talent varies, but it's less than the cost of a movie ticket. Full bar available during show, but not food. Lots of places to dine before or after in Bethesda and you can even bring in your own carryout.

Visited November 2011
1 Thank sbc1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Riot at Positano Italian Restaurant also viewed


Been to Laugh Riot at Positano Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing