We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Local Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Village

Shanghai Village
Ranked #123 of 340 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice food in a pleasant atmosphere. Can get loud. Service can be slow, but when the food comes out, it comes out! Have them serve one dish at a time. You enjoy each dish on its own. Owner comes out to cut up whole, but not half, duck. Nice touch. friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hadnt been in years but really taste treat and will remember the yummy food! Several of my friends mentioned that this is an all time Bethesda favorite!! We did carry out and went babysitting which was just super in so many ways... Try it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Beane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If food is the reason for your visit, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Indeed, the decor is so so but the service makes up for it. I would not go as far as others and say it is the best Chinese food in the DMV, but it's clearly value for money; we were surprised by the rather reasonable bill!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTartar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in DC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have been coming here for over 10 years and I will never get tired of it!!!! My family and I always take our friends and family here, or eat it for take-out. The owner couldn't be nicer, and many local politicians and celebrities have gone there. I definitely recommend it for anyone who loves chinese food (or even if you dont you'll get hooked after coming here!).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emilynunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So So Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Not much to say, crispy beef was rubbery not much sauce and on the bland side. Wife's general tso's was the same. Cooked fine but, really not much taste at all. I understand this Americanized Chinese food, buy it doesn't have to be like this.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Village also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing