We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Enough for Drinks & Conversation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Redwood

Redwood
Reserve with OpenTable
Redwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 358 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Bethesda Metro station is located only three blocks from the heart of Bethesda Row. Take the red line to Bethesda Metro Center.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
589 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good Enough for Drinks & Conversation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I and a few of my friends have been coming to the bar area of this place for Friday night drinks. Unlike most other places it offers a chance to actually hear each other and have clean bathrooms. Other than that it's an average place with no flare or spark, but very high ceiling. Bar area resembles a one you might find at a better hotels with limited selection of beer and inconsistent service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    72
    49
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun -- has potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Redwood is a good restaurant. It is pretty, the food is tasty, the service is good, it has the potential do be really good but it needs to think outside the box a bit more. Everything is good but it lacks spark.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend who lives in Bethesda suggested this place for a friendly gathering. It was a Wednesday evening, six of us made their way to Redwood, which features a big dinning hall (yep, that is what it looked like to me) average food in a busy alley on Bethesda Row. There is really nothing special about this place: salads, fish and steaks, large desserts - exactly the same menu you can find anywhere around, yet higher prices, probably reflecting the location. Service was slow, food was dull and uncreative. In the middle of the desert I would have happily stormed into Redwood, however in the DC metro area there are much better choices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sorry to bother the bartenders”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have been here many times, but none of our experiences have been last night..
it was very busy so we went straight up to the bar.. no one spoke to us AT ALL..
We then asked for menus, the bartenders brought them, we then asked if the had tasted
a certain Rose on the menu, " nope never had it" we then ordered a bottle of wine after
we got their attention again, We then asked to order food, we THEN ASKED for more wine,
we then asked for our check.. get the picture? not once were we spoken TO or asked how our meal
was or if we needed anything and the female bartender was making fun of other guests..
6.28.2014

REALLY? IF YOU DONT LIKE YOUR JOB, THEN DONT WORK THERE.. WE DONT WANT YOU.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
361 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good and slightly gourmet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good food with a slight gourmet twist. Go for their solid happy hour with great deals for both drinks and food. The crowd is so-so, but the food will make up for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing