We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to bother the bartenders”
Review of Redwood

Redwood
Reserve with OpenTable
Redwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Bethesda Metro station is located only three blocks from the heart of Bethesda Row. Take the red line to Bethesda Metro Center.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sorry to bother the bartenders”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have been here many times, but none of our experiences have been last night..
it was very busy so we went straight up to the bar.. no one spoke to us AT ALL..
We then asked for menus, the bartenders brought them, we then asked if the had tasted
a certain Rose on the menu, " nope never had it" we then ordered a bottle of wine after
we got their attention again, We then asked to order food, we THEN ASKED for more wine,
we then asked for our check.. get the picture? not once were we spoken TO or asked how our meal
was or if we needed anything and the female bartender was making fun of other guests..
6.28.2014

REALLY? IF YOU DONT LIKE YOUR JOB, THEN DONT WORK THERE.. WE DONT WANT YOU.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    75
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good and slightly gourmet”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good food with a slight gourmet twist. Go for their solid happy hour with great deals for both drinks and food. The crowd is so-so, but the food will make up for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“really nice summer restaurant.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Redwood has a super outside seating area on a pedestrian-only space, with lots of people walking by in downtown Bethesda. The food is terrific, especially the salads (try the nicoise), and the service is excellent, which is sometimes hard to do with outside seating. I will be back again this summer!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Redwood in Bethesda is a Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are in Bethesda, Maryland, stop by Redwood. The food and service is always great and the restaurant is lovely!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyGady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“always a sure bet”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This restaurant has a good food and wine selection and the decor also is pleasant. Either lunch or dinner--will not disappoint. And, for a change--try the veggie burger--quite good and very moist!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing