We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good service but lacks some atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood

Redwood
Reserve with OpenTable
Redwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 347 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Bethesda Metro station is located only three blocks from the heart of Bethesda Row. Take the red line to Bethesda Metro Center.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good service but lacks some atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food is excellent and service was good.I just felt the restaurant was a little dark and needed some enhanced lighting. The food was good value for money. i would visit again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    69
    48
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was the best dining experience i have had in a year. All the food was delicious. The staff were on top of everything. We were celebrating a family engagement and the evening could not have gone better. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyMDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
439 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Reliable date night restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant and bar never disappoints for a date night. Service is pleasant and food good (not great). Bar options are good and in the nice weather sitting outside is a plus.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value if you happen to like an item”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The best thing one can say about Redwood is that the pre fixe menu is a terrific value. The two of us who ordered it received generous servings of well prepared, if not outstanding, food. But the menu didn't offer much variety. I'm not a vegetarian but sometimes I feel in the mood for a meatless meal. This happened to be such a night and I couldn't find anything appealing.

Our server was friendly and competent, but I dislike being addressed in first person plural. Madam, you can be friendly without being familiar.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service on Bethesda Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Redwood is located within the Bethesda Lane walking Mall of Bethesda Row. The restaurant is decorated in a contemporary style with redwood and metals, in a way that is warm and inviting. Our Waiter shared that they have abundant outdoor seating available after 15 March and the restaurant windows fully open when the weather is pleasant in the Spring and Fall. They offer a lengthy wine list with a solid variety by the glass as well as specialty martinis, which my wife enjoys. Their French Onion Soup and Roasted Beet and Arugula Salad were both great appetizers. The Grilled Hanger Steak and the Mole Braised Beef Short Ribs were terrific; both entrees included a generous portion of vegetables which I greatly appreciate. Our Waiter was terrific with a thorough knowledge of the neighborhood, as well as the menu and wines by the glass. Everything came as order and never too early or late. Drink refills were offered in a timely manner without being overbearing. Dinner came to $75 per person with 2 drinks/person and tip. Overall a great experience. We are planning to go back once the patio is open and the weather warms up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHikeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing