We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable date night restaurant”
Review of Redwood

Redwood
Reserve with OpenTable
Redwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 359 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Bethesda Metro station is located only three blocks from the heart of Bethesda Row. Take the red line to Bethesda Metro Center.
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
447 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Reliable date night restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant and bar never disappoints for a date night. Service is pleasant and food good (not great). Bar options are good and in the nice weather sitting outside is a plus.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    73
    49
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value if you happen to like an item”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The best thing one can say about Redwood is that the pre fixe menu is a terrific value. The two of us who ordered it received generous servings of well prepared, if not outstanding, food. But the menu didn't offer much variety. I'm not a vegetarian but sometimes I feel in the mood for a meatless meal. This happened to be such a night and I couldn't find anything appealing.

Our server was friendly and competent, but I dislike being addressed in first person plural. Madam, you can be friendly without being familiar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service on Bethesda Lane”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Redwood is located within the Bethesda Lane walking Mall of Bethesda Row. The restaurant is decorated in a contemporary style with redwood and metals, in a way that is warm and inviting. Our Waiter shared that they have abundant outdoor seating available after 15 March and the restaurant windows fully open when the weather is pleasant in the Spring and Fall. They offer a lengthy wine list with a solid variety by the glass as well as specialty martinis, which my wife enjoys. Their French Onion Soup and Roasted Beet and Arugula Salad were both great appetizers. The Grilled Hanger Steak and the Mole Braised Beef Short Ribs were terrific; both entrees included a generous portion of vegetables which I greatly appreciate. Our Waiter was terrific with a thorough knowledge of the neighborhood, as well as the menu and wines by the glass. Everything came as order and never too early or late. Drink refills were offered in a timely manner without being overbearing. Dinner came to $75 per person with 2 drinks/person and tip. Overall a great experience. We are planning to go back once the patio is open and the weather warms up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHikeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“very nice restaurant with great fresh food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

really enjoyed eating here on a very quiet monday night. I assume the restaurant is much more full later in the week and on weekends, we we still thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Nice fresh food served in a very elegant way. definitely a place to remember when I am around again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jooph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Spot for A Networking Event”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I attended a networking event recently at Redwood in Bethesda. The bar area is very open and inviting and the music is not so loud that you can't network easily. They have several good selections for Happy Hour drinks including a very nice Spanish Red Wine for $4 a glass. There is also a good select of munchies suitable for sharing and very tasty.
The bartenders and manager were very attentive.
There is a parking lot directly behind the restaurant and it is located in the Bethesda Row, so there are lots of other shops and places to enjoy before or after visiting. Very clean, upbeat place. I felt the clients and others at the event were impressed with it as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing